Bergedorf Round Table > Round Tables > 142nd Round Table > Participants

Participants of the 142nd Bergedorf Round Table

“Conflict Management in the Middle East: Regional Solutions to Regional Problems?”

Beirut, March 20-22, 2009
List of Participants
Dr. Mustafa Alani
Senior Advisor and Program Director, Security and Terrorism Studies, Gulf Research Center, Dubai
Dr. Muriel Asseburg
Head, Research Division Middle East and Africa, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), Berlin
Dr. Sven Behrendt
Advisor, World Economic Forum, Beirut
Cengiz Çandar
Syndicated Columnist for dailies “Radikal”, “Referans”, “Hürriyet” and “Hürriyet -  internet edition”, Istanbul
H.E. Ramez Dimechkié
Ambassador of the Lebanese Republic to the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin
Dr. Ali Fayyad
President, The Consultative Centre for Studies and Documentation, Beirut
Dr. Mustafa Hamarneh
Chairman and Director General, Al Mada Company of Press & Journalism, Amman
Dr. Rainer Hermann
Correspondent, German Daily “Frankfurter Allgemeine”, Abu Dhabi
Rami G. Khouri
Director, Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, American University of Beirut, Beirut
Hubert Knirsch
Office of President Richard von Weizsäcker, Berlin
Dr. Bassma Kodmani
Executive Director, Arab Reform Initiative, Paris
H.E. Dr. Daniel C. Kurtzer
Lecturer and S. Daniel Abraham Professor in Middle Eastern Policy Studies, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ
Prof. Dr. Stefan Leder
Director, Orient-Institute, Beirut
Dr. Flynt Leverett, Director
Geopolitics of Energy Initiative in the America Strategy Program, New America Foundation, Washington, D.C.
Hillary Mann Leverett
Chief Executive Officer, Strategic Energy and Global Analysis, LCC (STRATEGA), McLean, VA
H.E. Andreas Michaelis
Director-General, Near and Middle Eastern Affairs and North Africa, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin
Ghassan Moukheiber
MP, Member, Change and Reform Parliamentary Group, Lebanese Parliament, Beirut
H.E. Dr. Hossein Mousavian
Advisor to the President, Center for Strategic Research, Tehran
Rola Noureddine
Diplomatic Advisor to Prime Minister Fouad Siniora, Presidency of the Council of Ministers, Beirut
Dr. Thomas Paulsen
Executive Director International Affairs, Körber Foundation, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes
Chairman and Director, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), German Institute for International and Security Affairs, Berlin
Dr. Paul Salem, Director
Carnegie Middle East Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Beirut
H.E. Birgitta Siefker-Eberle
Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Lebanese Republic, Beirut
H.E. Fouad Siniora
Prime Minister of the Lebanese Republic, Beirut
VLR I Ralph Tarraf
Deputy Head of Policy Planning, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin
Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker
President of the Federal Republic of Germany (ret.), Berlin
Dr. Klaus Wehmeier
Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg
Dr. Michael C. Williams
United Nations Special Coordinator for Lebanon, Beirut
H.E. Hesham Youssef
Chief of Cabinet of the Secretary-General, League of the Arab States, Cairo

to top