Bergedorf Round Table > Round Tables > 163rd Bergedorf Round Table > Participants

Participants of the 163rd Bergedorf Round Table

“A 'Westphalia' for the Middle East?”

Berlin, 11-12 November 2016

Prof. Dr. Abdulkhaleq ABDULLA, Professor, Political Science, United Arab Emirates University, Dubai

Ambassador Dr. Philipp ACKERMANN, Regional Director, Near and Middle East and the Maghreb, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Dr. Mustafa ALANI, Senior Advisor and Director, Security and Defense Studies, Gulf Research Center (GRC), Jeddah

Dr. Samir ALTAQI, General Director, Orient Research Centre, Dubai

Dr. Abdel Aziz ALUWAISHEG, Assistant Secretary General, Negotiations and Strategic Dialogue, Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), Riyadh

Dr. Michael AXWORTHY, Senior Lecturer, Institute of Arabic and Islamic Studies (IAIS), University of Exeter

Dr. Thomas BAGGER, Head, Policy Planning Staff, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Meliha BENLİ ALTUNIŞIK, Director, Graduate School of Social Sciences, Department of International Relations, Middle East Technical University, Ankara

Ralf BESTE, Commissioner, Strategic Communication, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Malik R. DAHLAN, Principal, Institution Quraysh for Law and Policy (iQ), London

Ambassador James DOBBINS, Distinguished Chair, Diplomacy and Security, RAND Corporation, Arlington, VA

Ambassador Michel DUCLOS, Director General, Académie Diplomatique Internationale, Paris

Ambassador Nabil FAHMY, fmr. Foreign Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Arab Republic of Egypt; Founding Dean, School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, The American University in Cairo

Prof. Dr. Ezzedine Choukri FISHERE, Visiting Professor, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH

Dr. Mark HELLER, Principal Research Associate, Institute for National Security Studies (INSS), Tel Aviv

Dr. Rainer HERMANN, Editor, Middle East, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ), Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Christoph KAMPMANN, Chair, Early Modern History, Philipps-Universität Marburg

Jamal KHASHOGGI, General Manager and Editor-in-Chief, Al-Arab News Channel, Doha

Dr. Nikolay KOZHANOV, Academy Associate, Chatham House, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, London

Anton LA GUARDIA, Deputy Foreign Editor, The Economist, London

Kathy LEACH, Joint Head, Policy Unit, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London

Dr. Patrick MILTON, Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Area Studies, John F. Kennedy Institute, Freie Universität Berlin

Ambassador Dr. Seyed Hossein MOUSAVIAN, Research Scholar, Program on Science and Global Security, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University

Nora MÜLLER, Executive Director International Affairs, Körber Foundation, Berlin

Dr. Andreas NICK, MP, Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr. Thomas PAULSEN, Member of the Executive Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Volker PERTHES, Executive Chairman and Director, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin; Temporary Assistant Secretary General and Senior Advisor to the Special Envoy for Syria, United Nations, Geneva

Dr. Abdulaziz SAGER, Chairman, Gulf Research Center (GRC), Jeddah

Dr. Seyed Mohammad Kazem SAJJADPOUR, Deputy Foreign Minister for Education and Research; President, Institute for Political and International Studies (IPIS), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tehran

Prof. Dr. Brendan SIMMS, Professor, History of European International Relations, Department of Politics and International Studies, University of Cambridge

Birgitta TAZELAAR, Director, Middle East and North Africa, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Hague

Dr. Klaus WEHMEIER, Chairman, Advisory Board, Körber Foundation, Hamburg

Dr. Almut WIELAND-KARIMI, Director, Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF), Berlin

to top