166th Bergedorf Round Table

“Reinventing Europe: The Old Continent in a Post-Atlantic World”

in Paris, 16-18 October 2017

Despite recent populist successes, new dynamics in the Franco-German relationship and signs of economic recovery in the Eurozone have fueled hopes that the European Union has seen the worst of its crisis. While Donald Trump's Presidency has triggered a new dissonance in the transatlantic partnership, it also constitutes yet another wake-up call for the Europeans to resume more international responsibility and to address imminent challenges, such as the strengthening of internal and external security, the consolidation of the Eurozone and the forging of a common migration policy.

From 16-18 October 2017, the participants of the 166th Bergedorf Round Table – 35 high-ranking politicians, government officials and experts from Europe and the U.S. – explored the question of the future of Europe in a post-Atlantic world. What steps are necessary in order for the Europeans “to take their fate into their own hands”? How can Europe respond to the main internal and external threats the continent is currently facing? What kind of vision for the future of European integration can be envisaged?

The 166th Bergedorf Round Table was opened by Jean-Yves Le Drian, Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs of the French Republic.

List of Participants

Ambassade d’Allemagne/Frédéric Brunet (1)
Körber-Stiftung/Frédéric Brunet (2-18)

to top