Participants of the 171st Bergedorf Round Table

Defending Multilateralism: What It Takes to Uphold the Rules-Based International System

in Hamburg, 20-22 June 2019

Niels Annen, MP, Minister of State, Federal Foreign Office; Member, German Bundestag, Berlin

The Hon. Lloyd Axworthy, fmr. Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada; Chair, World Refugee Council, Ottawa, ON

Amb. Susanne Baumann, Federal Government Commissioner for Disarmament and Arms Control; Director-General for International Order, the United Nations and Arms Control, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Thorsten Benner, Director; Co-Founder, Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi), Berlin

Carl Bildt, fmr. Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Sweden; Co-Chair, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), London

Marianne Birthler, Deputy Chairwoman, Advisory Board, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Andreas Cichowicz, Editor-in-Chief; Deputy Director of Television, Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Sir Christopher Munro Clark, Regius Professor of History, St Catharine's College, University of Cambridge, Cambridge

Helen Clark, fmr. Prime Minister of New Zealand; Patron, Helen Clark Foundation, Auckland

Amb. Neelam Deo, Director; Co-Founder, Gateway House: Indian Council on Global Relations, Mumbai

Steven Erlanger, Chief Diplomatic Correspondent for Europe, The New York Times, Brussels

Knut Fleckenstein, MEP, fmr. Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, European Parliament, Brussels

Prof. Dr. Akiko Fukushima, Professor, School of Global Studies and Collaboration, Aoyama Gakuin University, Tokyo

Eric Gujer, Editor-in-Chief, Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ), Zurich

Tina Hassel, Head; TV Editor-in-Chief, Arbeitsgemeinschaft der öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (ARD) Hauptstadtstudio, Berlin

Amb. Dr. Christoph Heusgen, Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the United Nations, New York City, NY

Dr. Mohammed Ibrahim, Founder; Chairman, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, London

Thomas Kleine-Brockhoff, Vice President; Director, Berlin Office, The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF), Berlin

Dr. Andrey Kortunov, Director General, Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC), Moscow

Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, MP, Member, German Bundestag, Berlin

Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Amrita Narlikar, President, German Institute of Global and Area Studies (GIGA), Hamburg

Dr. Thomas Paulsen, Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Ronja Scheler, Programme Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Wolfgang Schmidt, State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Berlin

Dr. Bruno Scholl, Deputy Head, Strategic Policy Planning Division, European External Action Service (EEAS), Brussels

Amb. Bruno Stagno Ugarte, fmr. Minister of Foreign Relations of Costa Rica; Deputy Executive Director for Advocacy, Human Rights Watch, New York City, NY

Dr. Annette Tabbara, Plenipotentiary of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg to the Federation and the European Union and for Foreign Affairs, Berlin

Anton Tsvetov, Deputy Director, Department of Multilateral Economic Cooperation and Special Projects, Ministry of Economic Development, Moscow; Munich Young Leader 2016

Justin Vaïsse, Founder; Director General, Paris Peace Forum, Paris

Dr. Wang Huiyao, Founder; President, Center for China and Globalization (CCG), Beijing

Dr. Kenneth Weinstein, President; CEO, Hudson Institute, Washington, DC

Dr. Almut Wieland-Karimi, Executive Director, German Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF), Berlin

Dr. Thomas Wright, Director, Center on the United States and Europe; Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy, Project on International Order and Strategy, Brookings Institution, Washington, DC

Dr. Yu Jie, Senior Research Fellow on China, Chatham House, London