Körber European Science Prize
  • Ben Feringa 2003 (Foto: Friedrun Reinhold)

  • - News

    Körber Prize winner Ben Feringa receives NOBEL PRIZE IN CHEMISTRY 2016

    The Körber Foundation congratulates Ben Feringa most sincerely on winning the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Together with Niek van Hulst, Martin Möller and Justin Molloy, Ben Feringa received the Körber European Science Prize in 2003 for a light-driven molecule-sized motor.


    The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 goes to the molecular researchers Ben Feringa, Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Fraser Stoddart. With their machines consisting of molecules, the researchers have taken chemistry to a new dimension. The molecular motor is now at the same development stage as the electric motor was in the 1830s. At that time no one had yet imagined that the invention would lead to electrically driven trains, washing machines and fans. In the future, molecular machines will most likely be used in sensors, energy storage systems and the development of new materials, according to the rationale for the prize. The Nobel Prize will be awarded in Stockholm on 10 December.

    Light-driven Molecular Walkers (PDF)

    to top