X

The Idea

The number of journalists and media representatives who live and work in exile in Germany is increasing. What does it mean to be in exile as a journalist? How is the German media landscape changing in the context of migration and globalisation? What is the role of digitalisation in this context? The Exile Media Forum addresses these questions once a year. Around 100 experts and media representatives are invited to Hamburg to exchange experiences, detect new trends and discuss future issues.

Exile journalism in Germany

Germany is one of the main destinations for exiled journalists who are fleeing from their home country. Nevertheless, many questions remain unanswered in the debate about their situation. Under what conditions do exiled journalists work in Germany? Our publication "Exile journalism in Germany" gives an insight into the situation.

Download PDF

Exile Media Forum 2019

The second edition of the Exile Media Forum took place in 2019 as part of the Global Investigative Journalism Conference (GIJC) in Hamburg. As cooperation partner, Körber-Stiftung developed an Exile Media Track together with the GIJC organisers. In four panel discussions and networking sessions, participants discussed the conditions under which journalists in exile live and work, what support they need, the technical conditions under which they can report and broadcast from exile and how cooperation with local media in the exile country can succeed.

On 26 September, the public evening event "Journalism in Exile: The Case of Saudi Arabia" (video) with Saudi exile journalist Safa Al Ahmad took place at KörberForum as part of the conference.

In addition, a scholarship programme of Körber-Stiftung made it possible for ten exiled journalists from all over the world to participate at the conference.

Programme (PDF)

Gallery

  • From left to right: Mamatjan Juma (Radio Free Asia), Alexey Kovalev (Meduza), Ines Gakiza (African Public Radio)    
  • From left to right: Ewald Scharfenberg (Armando), Katharina Finke (netwerk recherche, moderation), Can Dündar (Özgürüz)    
  • From left to right: Tabea Grzeszyk (Hostwriter), Julia Herrnböck (Reporters Without Borders Austria, moderation), Vivienne Francis (The Refugee Journalism Project), Hicham Mansouri (L´oeil de l´exilé/Médiapart´s Club) Photo: Körber-Stiftung/Jakob Börner   Foto: Körber-Stiftung/Jakob Börner  
  • Speakers and Fellows of the Exile Media Forum    
  • From left to right: Ronen Steinke (Süddeutsche Zeitung, moderation), Safa Al Ahmad, Susanne Koelbl (DER SPIEGEL)    
  • Exile Media Forum 2018

    In 2018, the Exile Media Forum took place for the first time. The conference brought together more than 100 experts from Germany and Europe to address different questions on exile journalism.

    The writer SAID provided a very personal look at 50 years of exile in his keynote speech. Touching words that show the inner conflicts that exile can trigger in a person. Refuge, home, but also renunciation and escape, all this SAID unites in the metaphor of language.

    As prelude to the conference, the Turkish journalist Can Dündar, who lives in exile in Germany, gave the second "Speech on Exile" (video) at the Elbphilharmonie (Philharmonic Hall in Hamburg). The event was complemented by a performance from the Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (video).

    Programme (PDF)

    Contact

    Sven Tetzlaff
    Head of Department Democracy, Engagement, Cohesion

    Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 144
    E-Mail tetzlaff@koerber-stiftung.de

    Theresa Schneider
    Programme Director
    Exile

    Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 166
    E-Mail theresa.schneider@koerber-stiftung.de

    Tanja Koop (parental leave)
    Programme Manager
    Exile

    Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 156
    E-Mail koop@koerber-stiftung.de

    to top

X

Die Idee

Die Zahl der Journalisten und Medienschaffenden, die sich in Deutschland im Exil befinden und hier arbeiten, steigt. Was bedeutet es, im Exil journalistisch tätig zu sein? Wie verändert sich die deutsche Medienlandschaft vor dem Hintergrund von Migration und Globalisierung? Und welche Rolle spielt die Digitalisierung dabei? Diesen Fragen geht das Exile Media Forum nach. Einmal im Jahr werden rund 100 Experten und Medienleute nach Hamburg geladen, um Zukunftsfragen miteinander zu diskutieren, neue Trends aufzuspüren und Erfahrungen auszutauschen.

Aktuelles


Meldung

Die Bedrohung saudischer Journalisten machte vergangenes Jahr durch die Ermordung Jamal Khashoggis weltweit Schlagzeilen. Im Rahmen der Global Investigative Journalism Conference sprachen die Dokumentarfilmerin Safa Al Ahmad und Susanne Koelbl, DER SPIEGEL, über Möglichkeiten des Berichtens über das Land.

mehr lesen

Mehr zu: Exil Medien

Meldung

Deutschland ist eines der Hauptzielländer für Exiljournalisten auf der Flucht. Dennoch bleiben in der Debatte über ihre Situation hier bislang viele Fragen offen. Unter welchen Bedingungen arbeiten Exiljournalistinnen und -journalisten in Deutschland? Unsere neue Publikation »Exiljournalismus in Deutschland« bietet ein Lagebild.

mehr lesen

Mehr zu: Exil Medien

Exile Media Forum 2019

Die zweite Ausgabe des Exile Media Forums fand im Jahr 2019 als Teil der Global Investigative Journalism Conference (GIJC) in Hamburg statt. Als Kooperationspartner organisierte die Körber-Stiftung gemeinsam mit den Veranstaltern der GIJC einen Exile Media Track innerhalb des Konferenzprogramms. In insgesamt vier Podiumsdiskussionen und Netzwerkveranstaltungen wurde gemeinsam erörtert, unter welchen Bedingungen Exiljournalisten derzeit leben und arbeiten, welche Unterstützung sie benötigen, unter welchen technischen Voraussetzungen sie aus dem Exilland berichten und senden können und wie die Zusammenarbeit mit einheimischen Medien des Exillandes gelingen kann.

Am 26. September fand im Rahmen der Konferenz zudem die öffentliche Abendveranstaltung »Journalismus im Exil: Der Fall Saudi-Arabien« (Video) mit der saudischen Exiljournalistin Safa Al Ahmad im KörberForum statt.

Ein Stipendienprogramm der Körber-Stiftung ermöglichte darüber hinaus die Teilnahme von mehr als zehn Exiljournalistinnen und Exiljournalisten aus der ganzen Welt.

detailliertes Programm (PDF)

Video vom Exile Media Forum 2019

Fotogalerie

  • Redner von links nach rechts: Mamatjan Juma (Radio Free Asia), Alexey Kovalev (Meduza), Ines Gakiza (African Public Radio)    
  • Ewald Scharfenberg (Armando), Katharina Finke (netzwerk recherche, Moderation), Can Dündar (Özgürüz)    
  • Von links nach rechts: Tabea Grzeszyk (Hostwriter), Julia Herrnböck (Reporter ohne Grenzen Österreich, Moderation), Vivienne Francis (The Refugee Journalism Project), Hicham Mansouri (L'oeil de l'exilé/Médiapart's Club)   Foto: Körber-Stiftung/Jakob Börner  
  • Redner und Stipendiaten des Exile Media Forums    
  • Von links nach rechts: Ronen Steinke (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Moderation), Safa Al Ahmad, Susanne Koelbl (Der Spiegel)    
  • Exile Media Forum 2018

    Die Fachkonferenz Exile Media Forum bringt deutsche Medienschaffende mit Journalisten zusammen, die in Deutschland im Exil leben. Das erste Forum 2018 wurde mit der »Rede zum Exil« von Can Dündar eröffnet, die in der Elbphilharmonie stattfand. In der anschließenden eintägigen Fachkonferenz wurde in Podiumsdiskussionen und Vorträgen über die Zukunft des Exiljournalismus, Modelle der Zusammenarbeit und Impulse für eine diversere Medienlandschaft gesprochen.

    Videos und Programm vom Exile Media Forum 2018

    Exil & Journalismus


     
    Video

    Exilland Deutschland- Eine Erfahrung

    Einen sehr persönlichen Blick auf 50 Jahre Exil lieferte der Schriftsteller SAID beim ersten Exile Media Forum der Körber-Stiftung. Berührende Worte, die die Zerrissenheit zeigen, welche das Exil in einem Menschen auslösen kann. Zuflucht, Heimat aber auch Abkehr und Flucht, all das vereint SAID in der Metapher der Sprache. Die Rede kann in der Mediathek auch als PDF heruntergeladen werden. weiter



     
    Interview

    »Ideen machen nicht an Gefängnismauern und Staatsgrenzen Halt«

    Kamal Chomani ist ein irakischer Journalist, Blogger und politischer Aktivist. Aufgrund seiner kritischen Haltung zum Unabhängigkeitsreferendum im kurdischen Teil Iraks wurde er in seinem Heimatland mehrfach mit dem Tode bedroht. Als Stipendiat der Hamburger Stiftung für politisch Verfolgte lebt er seit knapp zwei Monaten in Hamburg. Mit Agata Klaus, Körber-Stiftung, sprach er über seine Situation im Exil in Hamburg. weiter


    Kontakt

    Sven Tetzlaff
    Leitung Bereich Demokratie, Engagement, Zusammenhalt

    Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 144
    E-Mail tetzlaff@koerber-stiftung.de

    Theresa Schneider
    Programmleiterin
    Amal, Hamburg!; Exile Media Forum; Tage des Exils

    Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 166
    E-Mail theresa.schneider@koerber-stiftung.de

    Tanja Koop
    Programm-Managerin
    Amal, Hamburg!

    Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 156
    E-Mail koop@koerber-stiftung.de

    Dr. Agata Klaus (in Elternzeit)
    Programmleiterin
    Amal, Hamburg!; Exile Media Forum; Tage des Exils

    Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 166
    E-Mail klaus@koerber-stiftung.de

    to top