X

Körber History Forum, June 2017

Looking to the past to resolve the conflicts of the present

This year’s Körber History Forum focused on the political dimension of history and the role it can play in explaining the present. The speakers included Pierre Moscovici, Christoph Heusgen, Karen Donfried, Adam Roberts, Harald Welzer, and Nina Krushcheva.

“We are attempting to build a bridge between politics and history that stretches from Germany to the rest of Europe,” explained Thomas Paulsen, a member of the Körber Foundation’s executive board, at the opening of the two-day Körber History Forum in Berlin. The Forum brought together international academics, journalists, politicians, intellectuals, and historians for the second time. Paulsen continued by explaining that history offers guidance in the face of current crises and catastrophes. Moreover, as history helps to slow things down, it often appears to provide relief. However, Paulsen was clear that “the Körber History Forum should never act as a haven,” and that no attempt was being made to flee from a world that had been thrown off its tracks. “On the contrary, we are looking for answers to the questions of the present – answers to the time in which we are living in.” Finally, Paulsen stressed that it was essential to find out how history could help us better understand current conflicts and arrive at more coherent political decisions.

Full Report

Agenda (PDF)

 

Russia is not a follower country

Russia continues to have an imperial mentality and acts accordingly, explains Russian American Professor Nina Khrushcheva in our interview. The dream of a "common European house" for her is – despite the challenges – perhaps the only possibility in the future.

25 years after the fall of the Soviet Union, what impact does the heritage of the former empire have in today´s Russia from your point of view?

Russia continues to have an imperial mentality. Its idea of power is very much based on an idea of size – size matters. Russia's very large size that covers almost the whole continent from Kamchatka to Kaliningrad, from Japan to Germany explains a lot of Russia's thinking about its power. Also as in many empires the relationship between its parts are vertical, not horizontal, ultimately all begins and ends in Moscow. If we talk about the heritage, Russian empire is far from over, it is seeking opportunities to regroup – hence Wladimir Putin's arguments about "Russia's traditional spheres of influence" – Ukraine, Georgia, and so on, i.e. the territories that once were official parts of an empire, and now are somewhat unofficial, and yet "ours" nonetheless.

As of late, quite a number of people in Russia talk about Europe as if Russia were no longer a part of it. What happened to cause this change of perspective?

The way Russians see it, Europe, well the West, rejected them. NATO expansion to its borders became a sign that the West itself doesn't consider Russia as Europe. So the Russians turned the tables-you don't want us, we don't want you. Russia really is not a follower country (most empires are not), and the expectations that it would just adjust to the West with a little say in the process was a big miscalculation on the part of Western powers.

How relevant is the past with regards to the current challenges in the dialogue between Russia and its European neighbors?

It is very relevant. Since Russia continues to think of its role in the world in imperial terms, past is paramount as it gives the Russians examples of how they succeeded before. I am not certain about the dialogue though. Are European neighbors really ready to have a dialogue with Russia rather than just telling it what to do and how to be?

Has the dream of a "common European house" finally come to an end?

This is a question for Europe more than for Russia. And I hope not. But since the United States under Donald Trump is hardly a Western leader, and Wladimir Putin has hurt feelings that Europe has not accommodated him, Europe is more on its own than it ever was. And it is up to Europe itself to lead. As for the Common European House with the Russians, it is (and perhaps the only) possibility in the future. However, with this Kremlin there is too much baggage to achieve it in the near future.

Nina Khrushcheva was one of the speakers at the Körber History Forum 2017; she joined the debate "Is Russia entering the post-European era?".

Videos

The end of the West as we knew it?

In his keynote speech the former Vice-Chancellor and German Foreign Minister Joschka Fischer tackled the question, how we define the “West” today. The concept of the “West” was a transatlantic-European team effort which was determined by the rule of law, separation of powers, inalienable human rights and representative democracy. Because of a fundamental political credibility crisis, the concept of the “West” has been put to the test in the 21st century. What effect will the political change in the United States have on the continued existence of the western order system? What alternative order criteria are available?

Is Europe paying the price for globalisation with renationalisation?

Debate with Shlomo Avineri, Hebrew University Jerusalem, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Latvia in Riga, Gwythian Prins, Emeritus at the London School of Economics and Andreas Wirsching, Institute of Contemporary History Munich; moderated by Stephan Detjen, DeutschlandRadio. Renationalisation, isolationism, and populism are on the rise almost everywhere in Europe (and not only there). Which ghosts of the past are being awakened? Do we need strategies to overcome nationalism and populism?

How can a stable blueprint for lasting peace be facilitated?

Discussion with Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai, Wolfgang Ischinger, Munich Security Conference, Henry Laurens, Collège de France and Anuschka Tischer, Julius Maximilian University in Würzburg; moderated by Dietmar Pieper, Der Spiegel. The Peace of Westphalia in 1648 ended the Thirty Years War in Europe. It created a peace and a European security architecture which existed for 150 years. Are there mechanisms and models from the peace order of the 17th century, from which peace processes inter alia in the Middle East could be derived for the present day?

Gallery

  • Talal El Amine, Ambassador of the League of Arab States to Berlin, and Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai    
  • The end of the West as we know it? Former Vice Chancellor and Minister of Foreign Affairs Joschka Fischer inspired the guests at the closed out Humboldt Carré with his keynote speech to equally consider current conflicts and their historical roots    
  • All panelists wer faced with critical questions from the audience, in this case by Gisela Müller-Brandeck-Bocquet    
  • Karen Donfried, German Marshall Fund of the United States, Sam Sasam Shoamanesh, Institute for 21st Century Questions, and Wolfgang Ischinger, Munich Security Conference (f.l.t.r.)    
  • Daniel Gaede, Buchenwald Memorial Foundation, and Carmen Ludwig, Körber Foundation    
  • Maria Fusaro, University of Exeter (links), explains in her lunch session, what experiences from history can help the Mediterranean countries and the rest of Europe to deal with current political challenges    
  • Whether we are at the beginning of an era of climate wars was at the core of the lunch session by Harald Welzer (2nd from right), FUTURZWEI. Stiftung Zukunftsfähigkeit    
  • Orlando Figes (4th from right) of Birkbeck College, University of London, argued in his lunch session which interpretation of 1917 Russia will choose in the anniversary year 2017    
  • Photos: David Ausserhofer

    to top

X

Körber History Forum, Juni 2017

Mit Blick in die Geschichte Konflikte der Gegenwart lösen

Die politische Dimension der Geschichte und ihre Bedeutung auch für die Erklärung der Gegenwart standen im Mittelpunkt des diesjährigen Körber History Forums. Zu den Rednern des Forums zählten Pierre Moscovici, Christoph Heusgen, Karen Donfried, Adam Roberts, Harald Welzer und Nina Krushcheva.

»Es geht uns um einen Brückenschlag von Politik und Geschichte, der von Deutschland aus nach Europa reicht«, sagte Thomas Paulsen, Vorstand der Körber-Stiftung, zur Eröffnung der zweitägigen Konferenz in Berlin, die internationale Wissenschaftler, Journalisten, Politiker, Intellektuelle und Geschichtsvermittler zum zweiten Mal zusammenbrachte. Angesichts der gegenwärtigen Krisen und Katastrophen erscheine Geschichte oft wie eine Wohltat oder ein Refugium, weil sie Orientierung biete und für Entschleunigung sorge. »Aber natürlich soll das Körber History Forum kein Refugium sein«, betonte Paulsen. Es gehe nicht um die Flucht vor einer Welt, die aus den Fugen gerate. »Im Gegenteil, wir suchen Antworten für die Gegenwart, in der wir leben«, erläuterte Paulsen. Es gehe um Antworten auf die Frage, wo Geschichte helfen könne,»Konflikte der Gegenwart besser zu verstehen und zu klügeren politischen Entscheidungen zu kommen.

ausführlicher Bericht

Agenda (PDF)

Russland ist kein Land, das sich unterordnet

Russland verstehe sich immer noch als ein Imperium und trete dementsprechend auf, erläutert die russisch-amerikanische Politologin Nina Khrushcheva – Ur-Enkelin von Nikita Khrushchow  – in einem Gespräch mit der Körber-Stiftung. Im Traum von einem »gemeinsamen Haus Europas« mit den Russen sieht sie – trotz aller Hindernisse – die vielleicht einzige Chance für die Zukunft.

Welchen  Einfluss hat – 25 Jahre nach dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion – das Erbe des ehemaligen Imperiums Ihrer Meinung nach auf das heutige Russland?

Russland hat immer noch ein imperiales Bewusstsein. Seine Vorstellung von Macht beruht sehr stark auf dem Konzept von Größe – Größe spielt eine Rolle. Russlands gewaltige Ausmaße, die fast den ganzen Kontinent umfassen, von Kamtschatka bis Kaliningrad, von Japan bis Deutschland, erklären sehr gut Russlands Machtvorstellungen. Zudem gilt, wie in vielen Großreichen, dass die Beziehung zwischen seinen einzelnen Teilen vertikal und nicht horizontal ausgerichtet ist. Letztendlich beginnt und endet alles in Moskau. Wenn wir über das Erbe reden, dann ist das russische Imperium bei weitem nicht am Ende. Es sucht nach Möglichkeiten, sich neu zu positionieren – daher auch Wladimir Putins Verständnis von »Russlands traditionellen Einfluss-Sphären«, wie der Ukraine und Georgien, also den Staaten, die einmal Bestandteile des Imperiums waren und es inoffiziell jetzt irgendwie bleiben und somit gleichwohl [in Russland] als »die Unsrigen« gelten.

In letzter Zeit sprechen viele Menschen in Russland über Europa, als gehöre Russland nicht mehr dazu. Was ist passiert, dass es zu diesem Perspektivwechsel kam?

So wie es die Russen sehen, hat Europa, ja sogar der Westen, sie zurückgewiesen. Die NATO-Erweiterungen bis zur russischen Grenze wurden auch als ein Zeichen verstanden, dass der Westen selbst Russland nicht als einen Teil Europas betrachtet. Die Russen haben den Spieß daher umgedreht – ihr wollt uns nicht, wir wollen euch nicht. Russland ist schlichtweg kein Land, das sich unterordnet (die meisten Großreiche sind das nicht), und die Erwartung , dass es sich schlichtweg an den Westen anpassen würde, ohne viel im Prozess mitbestimmen zu dürfen, war eine große Fehleinschätzung seitens der westlichen Mächte.

Welche Bedeutung hat die gemeinsame Vergangenheit für die aktuellen Herausforderungen in der Verständigung zwischen Russland und seinen europäischen Nachbarn?

Sehr wichtig! Da Russland weiterhin seine Rolle in der Welt aus einer imperialen Position sieht, ist die Vergangenheit von zentraler Bedeutung, da sie den Russen Beispiele dafür gibt, wie sie früher erfolgreich waren. Ich bin mir bezüglich der Verständigung allerdings nicht sicher: Sind die europäischen Nachbarn wirklich bereit, einen Dialog mit Russland zu führen, ohne dem Land zu sagen, was zu tun ist und wie es zu sein hat?

Hat der Traum von einem »gemeinsamen Haus Europa« letztendlich sein Ende gefunden?

Das ist eher eine Frage für Europa als für Russland. Aber ich hoffe nicht. Aber seit die USA unter Donald Trump kaum noch als westliche Führungsmacht gelten und Wladimir Putin gekränkt ist, weil Europa ihm nicht gefällig war, ist Europa mehr als jemals zuvor auf sich allein gestellt. Und es liegt an Europa selbst, zu führen. Was das »gemeinsame Haus Europa« mit den Russen anbetrifft, ist das eine (und vielleicht auch die einzige) Chance für die Zukunft. Mit diesem Kreml allerdings gibt es zu viele Altlasten, um das in nächster Zeit zu erreichen.

Nina Khrushcheva diskutierte beim Körber History Forum 2017 die Frage »Ist Russland auf dem Weg in das posteuropäische Zeitalter?«.

Videos

Das Ende des Westens, wie wir ihn kannten?

In seiner Auftaktrede ging der ehemalige Vizekanzler und Außenminister der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Joschka Fischer der Frage nach, was den »Westen« heute noch ausmacht. Das Konzept des »Westens« entwickelte sich als ein transatlantisch-europäisches Gemeinschaftsprodukt, das von der Herrschaft des Rechts, Gewaltenteilung, repräsentativen Demokratie und unveräußerlichen Menschenrechten bestimmt ist. Im 21. Jahrhundert steht dieses Konzept durch eine fundamentale politische Glaubwürdigkeitskrise auf dem Prüfstand. Wie wirkt sich die politische Wende in den USA auf den Fortbestand des westlichen Ordnungssystems aus? Welche alternativen Ordnungskriterien stünden zur Verfügung?
Eröffnung: Thomas Paulsen, Vorstand der Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Zahlt Europa mit der Renationalisierung den Preis für die Globalisierung?

Diskussion mit Shlomo Avineri, Hebrew University Jerusalem, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Außenministerium der Republik Lettland in Riga, Gwythian Prins, emeritierter Professor der London School of Economics und Andreas Wirsching, Institut für Zeitgeschichte in München. Es moderierte Stephan Detjen vom DeutschlandRadio. Renationalisierung, Isolationismus und Populismus sind fast überall in Europa (und nicht nur dort) auf dem Vormarsch. Welche Geister der Vergangenheit werden damit geweckt? Brauchen wir Strategien zur Überwindung von Nationalismus und Populismus?

Wie kann eine stabile Friedensordnung gelingen?

Diskussion mit Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai, Wolfgang Ischinger, Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, Henry Laurens, Collège de France und Anuschka Tischer, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg. Es moderierte Dietmar Pieper, Der Spiegel. Der Westfälische Frieden von 1648 beendete den Dreißigjährigen Krieg in Europa und schuf eine Friedensordnung und eine europäische Sicherheitsarchitektur, die für 150 Jahre Bestand hatte. Gibt es Mechanismen und Muster, die sich aus der Friedensordnung des 17. Jahrhunderts für heutige Friedensprozesse unter anderem im Nahen Osten ableiten lassen?
In Kooperation mit Der Spiegel im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe »Frieden machen – was Diplomaten aus der Geschichte lernen können«.

Fotogalerie

  • Talal El Amine, Botschafter der Liga der Arabischen Staaten in Berlin, und Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai    
  • Das Ende des Westens, wie wir ihn kannten? Der frühere Außenminister und Vizekanzler Joschka Fischer stimmte im voll besetzten Humboldt Carré die Gäste mit seiner Auftaktrede darauf ein, aktuelle Konflikte und deren historische Wurzeln gleichermaßen zu betrachten.    
  • Die Gesprächsgäste stellten sich auch den kritischen Nachfragen aus dem Publikum, wie hier von Gisela Müller-Brandeck-Bocquet.    
  • Karen Donfried, German Marshall Fund of the United States, Sam Sasam Shoamanesh, Institute for 21st Century Questions, und Wolfgang Ischinger, Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz (v.l.n.r.).    
  • Daniel Gaede, Gedenkstätte Buchenwald, und Carmen Ludwig, Körber-Stiftung.    
  • Maria Fusaro, University of Exeter (links), erläuterte im Mittagsgespräch, welche Erfahrungen aus der Geschichte den Mittelmeeranrainern und dem restlichen Europa beim Umgang mit aktuellen politischen Herausforderungen helfen können.    
  • Inwieweit wir am Beginn eines Zeitalters der Klimakriege stehen, diskutierte Harald Welzer (2. von rechts), FUTURZWEI. Stiftung Zukunftsfähigkeit, in einem Mittagsgespräch.    
  • Orlando Figes (4. von links) vom Birkbeck College der University of London debattierte im Mittagsgespräch darüber, welche Lesart der Revolution von 1917 Russland im Jubiläumsjahr 2017 wählt.    
  • Fotos: David Ausserhofer

    to top