X

Videos from the Körber History Forum 2017

Körber History Forum: The end of the West as we knew it?

In his keynote speech the former Vice-Chancellor and German Foreign Minister Joschka Fischer tackled the question, how we define the “West” today. The concept of the “West” was a transatlantic-European team effort which was determined by the rule of law, separation of powers, inalienable human rights and representative democracy. Because of a fundamental political credibility crisis, the concept of the “West” has been put to the test in the 21st century. What effect will the political change in the United States have on the continued existence of the western order system? What alternative order criteria are available?

Video

Körber History Forum: Is Europe paying the price for globalisation with renationalisation?

Debate with Shlomo Avineri, Hebrew University Jerusalem, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Latvia in Riga, Gwythian Prins, Emeritus at the London School of Economics and Andreas Wirsching, Institute of Contemporary History Munich; moderated by Stephan Detjen, DeutschlandRadio. Renationalisation, isolationism, and populism are on the rise almost everywhere in Europe (and not only there). Which ghosts of the past are being awakened? Do we need strategies to overcome nationalism and populism?

Video

Körber History Forum: How can a stable blueprint for lasting peace be facilitated?

Discussion with Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai, Wolfgang Ischinger, Munich Security Conference, Henry Laurens, Collège de France and Anuschka Tischer, Julius Maximilian University in Würzburg; moderated by Dietmar Pieper, Der Spiegel. The Peace of Westphalia in 1648 ended the Thirty Years War in Europe. It created a peace and a European security architecture which existed for 150 years. Are there mechanisms and models from the peace order of the 17th century, from which peace processes inter alia in the Middle East could be derived for the present day?

In cooperation with Der Spiegel within the series of debates “Making peace – what diplomats can learn from history”.

Video

Körber History Forum: How much Germany can Europe take?

Dialogue with Pierre Moscovici, EU Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs. Moderator was Matthias Naß, Die Zeit. Whether the European Union can handle the geopolitical challenges and the continued crisis phenomena depends very largely on the extent to which Germany is prepared to defer its national interests and reduce its dominance in Europe. What do the historical experiences of the 19th and 20th centuries mean for Germany and its role at the “centre of Europe” today? What opportunities does a “European Germany” offer in comparison to a “German Europe”?

Video

Körber History Forum: Is Russia entering the post-European era?

Discussion with Nina L. Khrushcheva, New School New York, Fyodor Lukyanov, Russia in Global Affairs from Moskau and Gwendolyn Sasse, Center for East European and International Studies (ZOiS); moderated by Cathrin Kahlweit, Süddeutsche Zeitung. The collapse of the Soviet Union has left Russia with a still unresolved debate about values. This affects not only the self-understanding of the country, but also its relationship with its European neighbours. Is Russia currently breaking away from its 300-year tradition of a European future perspective? Has the dream of one common European house finally come to an end?

Video

Körber History Forum: Who regulates the world?

Discussion with Patrick Cohrs, Central European University Budapest, Karen Donfried, German Marshall Fund in Washington, Christoph Heusgen out of the Federal Chancellery and Adam Roberts, Emeritus of the University of Oxford, moderated by Sylke Tempel, editor-in-chief Internationale Politik and Berlin Policy Journal. History is characterised by numerous attempts to shape the world with the help of hegemonic models and principles of order so as to strengthen security, stability and inner peace in the affected regions. How can past order approaches be evaluated? What stimuli do they provide for the organisation of global order in the 21st century?

Video

to top

X

Videos vom Körber History Forum 2017

Körber History Forum: Das Ende des Westens, wie wir ihn kannten?

In seiner Auftaktrede ging der ehemalige Vizekanzler und Außenminister der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Joschka Fischer der Frage nach, was den »Westen« heute noch ausmacht. Das Konzept des »Westens« entwickelte sich als ein transatlantisch-europäisches Gemeinschaftsprodukt, das von der Herrschaft des Rechts, Gewaltenteilung, repräsentativen Demokratie und unveräußerlichen Menschenrechten bestimmt ist. Im 21. Jahrhundert steht dieses Konzept durch eine fundamentale politische Glaubwürdigkeitskrise auf dem Prüfstand. Wie wirkt sich die politische Wende in den USA auf den Fortbestand des westlichen Ordnungssystems aus? Welche alternativen Ordnungskriterien stünden zur Verfügung?

Video

Körber History Forum: Zahlt Europa mit der Renationalisierung den Preis für die Globalisierung?

Diskussion mit Shlomo Avineri, Hebrew University Jerusalem, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Außenministerium der Republik Lettland in Riga, Gwythian Prins, emeritierter Professor der London School of Economics und Andreas Wirsching, Institut für Zeitgeschichte in München. Es moderierte Stephan Detjen vom DeutschlandRadio. Renationalisierung, Isolationismus und Populismus sind fast überall in Europa (und nicht nur dort) auf dem Vormarsch. Welche Geister der Vergangenheit werden damit geweckt? Brauchen wir Strategien zur Überwindung von Nationalismus und Populismus?

Video

Körber History Forum: Wie kann eine stabile Friedensordnung gelingen?

Diskussion mit Samir Altaqi, Orient Research Center Dubai, Wolfgang Ischinger, Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, Henry Laurens, Collège de France und Anuschka Tischer, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg. Es moderierte Dietmar Pieper, Der Spiegel. Der Westfälische Frieden von 1648 beendete den Dreißigjährigen Krieg in Europa und schuf eine Friedensordnung und eine europäische Sicherheitsarchitektur, die für 150 Jahre Bestand hatte. Gibt es Mechanismen und Muster, die sich aus der Friedensordnung des 17. Jahrhunderts für heutige Friedensprozesse unter anderem im Nahen Osten ableiten lassen?
In Kooperation mit Der Spiegel im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe »Frieden machen – was Diplomaten aus der Geschichte lernen können«.

Video

Körber History Forum: Wieviel Deutschland verträgt Europa?

Gespräch mit Pierre Moscovici, EU-Kommissar für Wirtschafts- und Finanzangelegenheiten, Steuern und Zollunion Es moderierte Matthias Naß, Die Zeit. Ob die EU die aktuellen geopolitischen Herausforderungen und die weiter andauernden Krisenphänomene bewältigen kann, hängt auch davon ab, in welchem Maß Deutschland bereit ist, nationale Interessen zurückzustellen und seine Dominanz in Europa zurückzufahren. Was bedeuten die historischen Erfahrungen des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts für Deutschland und seine Rolle in der Mitte Europas heute? Welche Chancen bietet ein »europäisches Deutschland« gegenüber einem »deutschen Europa«?

Video

Körber History Forum: Ist Russland auf dem Weg in das posteuropäische Zeitalter?

Diskussion mit Nina L. Khrushcheva, New School New York, Fyodor Lukyanov, Russia in Global Affairs aus Moskau und Gwendolyn Sasse, Zentrum für Osteuropa- und internationale Studien. Es moderierte Cathrin Kahlweit, Süddeutsche Zeitung. Vom Zerfall der Sowjetunion blieb Russland bis heute eine ungelöste Wertedebatte, die nicht nur das Selbstverständnis des Landes, sondern auch sein Verhältnis zu seinen europäischen Nachbarn betrifft. Bricht Russland aktuell mit seiner 300jährigen Tradition einer europäischen Zukunftsperspektive? Ist der Traum von einem gemeinsamen europäischen Haus endgültig ausgeträumt?

Video

Körber History Forum: Wer ordnet die Welt?

Diskussion mit Patrick Cohrs, Central European University Budapest, Karen Donfried, German Marshall Fund in Washington, Christoph Heusgen aus dem Bundeskanzleramt und Adam Roberts, emeritierter Professor der University of Oxford. Es moderierte Sylke Tempel, von der Zeitschrift Internationale Politik (IP). Die Geschichte ist geprägt von zahlreichen Versuchen, die Welt mit Hilfe von Hegemonialmodellen und Ordnungsprinzipien zu gestalten und damit in den betroffenen Regionen Sicherheit, Stabilität und inneren Frieden zu stärken. Wie sind die Ordnungsansätze der Vergangenheit zu bewerten? Welche Impulse geben sie für die Gestaltung der globalen Ordnung des 21. Jahrhunderts?

Video

to top