X

Körber History Forum, May 2018

The value of Europe with a view to history

The conflicting relationship between politics and history was the focus of this year's Körber History Forum 2018. The list of speakers included Erkki Tuomioja, former Finnish Foreign Minister and Chairman of "Historians Without Borders", sociologist Eva Kovács from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, political anthropologist Esra Özyürek from the London School of Economics, historian Philipp Ther from the University of Vienna as well as Turkish historian İlber Ortaylı.

"All over the world, we see that a free and democratic community is something very fragile," said Thomas Paulsen, member of the Executive Board of the Körber Foundation at the opening of the two-day conference in Berlin, which brought together international scholars, journalists, politicians, intellectuals and mediators of history for the third time. "Democracy is not a given, it has to be nurtured and fostered, it has to be defended against its enemies, but it also has to evolve, it has to be re-established and renegotiated time and again."

Detailed Report

Videos

Speakers and Moderators

Agenda (PDF)

List of Participants (PDF)

Migration: a contentious issue

What are the reservations expressed about immigration in the EU based on, and how have fears about integration been approached throughout history? On the sidelines of the Körber History Forum, historian Philipp Ther, from the University of Vienna, and Gergely Prőhle, Hungary’s former ambassador in Berlin, explain their positions in the debate.

Philipp Ther is convinced that migration permeates European history. However, he emphasises the need to differentiate between refugees, labour migrants and other forms of migration. Ther also stresses fear and rejection as central motifs that have always been associated with migration in Europe. Moreover, he emphasises that history shows that host countries have almost always benefitted from migration in the long term.

read opinion of Philipp Ther

Gergely Prőhle explains the reservations expressed by Central and Eastern European countries when it comes to accepting refugees. Prőhle maintains that these countries have yet to make the same positive experiences that the West has made with migration. As such, he argues that the parliamentary majority, as an expression of the will of the Hungarian population, should be able to decide who can live in the country. Prőhle and Ther vividly discussed these issues at the 2018 Körber History Forum in Berlin and they set out their views in more detail in the following.

read opinion of Gergely Prőhle

Gallery

  • Marianne Birthler, former Federal Commissioner for the Records of the State Security Service of the Former German Democratic Republic    
  • Suat Kınıklıoğlu (2nd from right), Institute for Security & Development Policy in Stockholm, with fellow panellist Eugene Rogan of St. Antony’s College, University of Oxford (1st from right)    
  • The interactive exchange between participants is a core aim of the Körber History Forum    
  • Nora Müller, Körber-Stiftung, and Styopa Safaryan, Armenian Institute of International and Security Affairs    
  • Thomas Paulsen, Körber-Stiftung, former Ambassador of Hungary Gergely Prőhle, Gabriele Woidelko, Körber-Stiftung, and Lotte Leicht, Human Rights Watch (f.l.)    
  • Panellist Erkki Tuomioja on the legacy of World War One and the work of his organisation Historians Without Borders    
  • Historian Sven Beckert, Harvard University, discussed as panellist the history and present state of global capitalism    
  • The audience - in this case Gurminder K Bhambra, School of Global Studies, University of Sussex, - was encouraged to add critical questions after the panel debates    
  • Lunch debate with moderator Miriam Rürup (1st from left), Institute for the History of the German Jews, and Stefanie Schüler-Springorum (2nd from left), Director of the Center for Research of Anti-Semitism in Berlin    
  • Carlos Collado Seidel (2nd from right), University of Marburg, and journalist Veronica Frenzel (2nd from left) took their lunch-debate from the separatist movement in Spain to autonomous movements and the impact of individual identity throughout Europe    
  • Photos: David Ausserhofer

    to top

X

Körber History Forum, Mai 2018

Der Wert Europas mit dem Blick in die Geschichte

Das Spannungsverhältnis von Politik und Geschichte stand im Mittelpunkt des Körber History Forum 2018. Zu den Rednern zählten u.a. der frühere finnische Außenminister und Vorsitzende von »Historians Without Borders« Erkki Tuomioja, die Soziologin Éva Kovács von der Ungarischen Akademie der Wisssenschaftendie politische Anthropologin Esra Özyürek von der London School of Economics, der Historiker Philipp Ther von der Universität Wien, sowie der türkische Historiker İlber Ortaylı.

»Wir sehen überall auf der Welt, dass ein freies und demokratisches Gemeinwesen etwas sehr Zerbrechliches ist«, sagte Thomas Paulsen, Vorstand der Körber-Stiftung zur Eröffnung der zweitägigen Konferenz in Berlin, die internationale Wissenschaftler, Journalisten, Politiker, Intellektuelle und Geschichtsvermittler zum dritten Mal zusammenbrachte. »Demokratie ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit, sie muss gehegt und gepflegt werden, sie muss gegen ihre Feinde verteidigt werden, aber sie muss sich auch weiterentwickeln, sie muss im Laufe der Zeit auch immer wieder neu begründet und neu ausgehandelt werden.«

ausführlicher Bericht

Videos

Sprecher und Moderatoren

Programm (PDF)

Liste der Teilnehmer (PDF)

Streitfall Migration

Woher rühren die aktuellen Vorbehalte gegen Zuwanderung in der EU und wie wurde Integrationsängsten in der Geschichte begegnet? Am Rande des Körber History Forums erläuterten der Historiker Philipp Ther von der Universität Wien und der ehemalige Botschafter Ungarns in Berlin, Gergely Prőhle, ihre Position in der aktuellen Debatte.

Beide haben diese Frage lebhaft auf der Bühne des Körber History Forums 2018 in Berlin diskutiert und vertiefen an dieser Stelle ihre Argumentation.

Philipp Ther ist sich sicher, dass Migration die europäische Geschichte durchzieht, auch wenn man zwischen Fluchtmigration, Arbeitsmigration und anderen Formen der Migration unterscheiden sollte. Angst und Ablehnung waren dabei schon immer ein Grundmotiv, dabei haben in der historischen Perspektive die Aufnahmeländer langfristig fast immer profitiert.

zur Position von Philipp Ther

Gergely Pröhle erklärt die Vorbehalte in den mittel- und osteuropäischen Ländern, Flüchtlinge aufzunehmen, damit, dass man dort diese Erfahrungen mit Migration nicht gemacht habe. Er würde gern die parlamentarische Mehrheit des ungarischen Volkes darüber entscheiden lassen, wer in Ungarn lebt.

zur Position von Gergely Pröhle

Fotogalerie

  • Marianne Birthler, frühere Bundesbeauftragte für die Unterlagen des Staatssicherheitsdienstes der ehemaligen Deutschen Demokratischen Republik    
  • Suat Kınıklıoğlu (2.v.r.), Institute for Security & Development Policy in Stockholm, und Eugene Rogan (r.), St. Antony’s College der Universität Oxford    
  • Raum für Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmern ist ein zentrales Anliegen des Körber History Forums    
  • Nora Müller, Körber-Stiftung, und Styopa Safaryan, Armenian Institute of International and Security Affairs    
  • Thomas Paulsen, Körber-Stiftung, ungarischer Botschafter a.D. Gergely Prőhle, Gabriele Woidelko, Körber-Stiftung, und Lotte Leicht, Human Rights Watch (v.l.)    
  • Podiumsgast Erkki Tuomioja über das Erbe des Ersten Weltkriegs und die Arbeit seiner Organisation Historians Without Borders    
  • Wirtschaftshistoriker Sven Beckert, Harvard Universität, diskutierte auf dem Podium über die Geschichte und Gegenwart des globalen Kapitalismus    
  • Das Publikum - hier Gurminder K Bhambra, School of Global Studies der Universität Sussex, - wurde im Anschluss an jede Paneldiskussion zum Stellen kritischer Fragen angehalten    
  • Mittagsgespräch mit Moderatorin Miriam Rürup (l.), Institut für die Geschichte der deutschen Juden, und Stefanie Schüler-Springorum (2.v.l.), Leiterin des Zentrums für Antisemitismusforschung in Berlin    
  • Carlos Collado Seidel (2.v.r.), Universität Marburg, und Journalistin Veronica Frenzel weiteten ihr Mittagsgespräch über Separatismus in Spanien zu einer Diskussion über autonome Bewegungen und die Bedeutung individueller Identität in Europa aus    
  • Fotos: David Ausserhofer

    to top