X

“Current propaganda confronts us with a perfect storm”

While propaganda recurs throughout history, both scope and efficacy of manipulative political communication witnessed today are unparalleled. In the so-called ‘post-fact era’, societies the world over face the challenge of addressing distortion and demagogy. What lessons does the past hold to keep propaganda in check? And how can we ensure that public debate remains open and democratic?  Propaganda historian Jo Fox of the University of London’s Institute of Historical Research shared her insight into the topic and gave her advice on dealing with ‘fake news’ and manipulation in the 21st century.

The Nazi propaganda apparatus is widely recognised as the epitome of highly effective political communication. What made Nazi propaganda so appealing and effective?

It is important not to overestimate the success of Nazi propaganda – it was only successful in so far as its central claims corresponded to its intended targets’ pre-existing beliefs and in so far as it remained credible. Nazi propaganda was multi-layered: it could be loud and insistent, striking and dynamic, but it could also be subtle, cleverly and quietly playing on deeper, embedded belief systems. Goebbels knew that the most successful propaganda worked by manipulating pre-existing opinions, views and prejudices, twisting or tweaking them to suit the National Socialist ideological position. Goebbels prided himself on his ability to ‘pluck the string in the harp of man’s soul to make it sound’. In my view, this accounted for much of its success.

Which elements of such “historical” propaganda recur today?

In its basic form, propaganda technique is remarkably static – largely since it plays on human psychology. But it is applied to rapidly changing circumstances and environments, and this may give it the appearance of being constantly in-flux. It remains true that the most successful propaganda is that which corresponds to pre-existing opinion and principles. Here, what matters is not what is true but what we are prepared to believe. For example, the most committed Brexiteer will remain unmoved by facts that show the benefits of remaining within the European Union. We are all still vulnerable to propaganda that confirms our own viewpoints – scientifically described by the notion of ‘confirmation bias’. This is just as true now as it was in the past. 

Has modern media and its ubiquity in everyday life changed how propaganda works, and how effectively it is able to influence the public? From a historian’s point of view: Has something fundamentally changed?

How propaganda functions has not changed significantly, but the environment in which it is currently operating presents new challenges.  We are now confronted by a perfect storm: the speed, scope and scale of modern communications, complicated by the uncertain status of social media as neither platform nor publisher and the hidden algorithms used to control the information we see; the building frustration of those who feel disempowered by elites; the desire of some to destabilise the entire social and political system through psychological warfare campaigns and by creating a situation where all views are of equal value regardless of the evidential base; where psychological warriors can operate under the radar in the largely unregulated ‘wild west’ of the internet. This is an agitational propagandists dream – where nothing is certain, where all may be plausible, and where communications networks are fast and global. I would argue that this is unprecedented.
 
The proclamation of a “post-truth era” has called to attention how scientific objectivity is not only replaced by subjective opinion and “alternative facts”, but systematically undermined as a concept and point of orientation. If scientific, or at least pseudo-scientific  justification of ideological claims was a central tenet of past propaganda, are we currently witnessing a new approach?

We have experienced the twisting or rejection of science in pursuit of ideological or financial aims in the past, but perhaps not from so many angles, and with such scope and range. It is incumbent on us all to reassert the value and validity of scientific fact – or at least the facts as they are currently known to us now, underpinned by legitimate evidence. There are not ‘alternative facts’, but rather alternative opinions, which need to be clearly identified and labelled as such. There is, in some quarters, a concerted attempt to deliberately sow confusion and persuade us that we should mistrust all information. Here is the real danger. One only has to think of climate change to imagine the catastrophic consequences of ‘alternative facts’. In this environment, where all facts are contested or where even mainstream politicians are in the business of dismissing uncomfortable truths as ‘fake news’, we will increasingly succumb to illogical emotional impulses, hastened by a loss of the media environment, where the place of expert opinion in society is contested, and where the sheer volume of information ensures that objective facts are buried or lost.

With regard to propaganda, it seems that trust and deception are interdependent. Does history offer a lesson on who and how we can trust?

I do not think that history offers ‘lessons’. Historical events come with their own specificities. History does, however, provide insight into contingencies – what choices and options faced us in the past when in similar, if not identical situations, and what decisions were made and why? Humans have always needed to make choices as to who to trust. Again, this is largely determined by the information we possess and the individual or collective meaning we attach to that information. The danger that faces us now is that legitimate providers of trustworthy information are being denounced by some with a political agenda as pedlars of fake news. Although publics in modern liberal democracies over the past century had a healthy scepticism of news sources, there was still a reasonable degree of trust in established, legitimate publications or broadcasters. This is now under attack, partly for political gain and partly because the nature of news media has changed significantly.

You wrote that “control of information was a primary concern of dictatorships”. Can governments today curb misinformation without themselves controlling public discourse? Where can a line be drawn between state control of information and state guardianship of free speech?

This is the million-dollar question – or rather the 142.7 billion-dollar question – the estimated combined net worth of Facebook and Twitter). Modern liberal democracies have always struggled to balance the right to free speech and the need to censor. This challenge has been exacerbated by the advent of social media. Social media not only allows for unregulated(and potentially dangerous communications to circulate largely unchecked and for computational propaganda to run amok; it creates the environment where we only seek out or are presented with information from those that already share our views, where we are trapped in a global echo-chamber that simply legitimizes rather than challenges our existing patterns of thinking, and where we silence those views we do not endorse.

Arguably, this has already damaged the very notion of liberal democratic free speech, normally characterised by a plurality of and regard for alternative opinion. The answer to this problem does not lie in heavy-handed censorship. Controlling the info-sphere can result in unintended consequences. Historical evidence suggests that the more information is censored, the more suspicious of official channels the public become, and the more likely they will be to seek out alternative information, perhaps from suspect sources. There is undoubtedly a case for making social media more accountable and for limiting or eliminating damaging misinformation or inciteful material. However, this must be coupled with a civic education programme that – from our early years – teaches us critical thought, about the value of knowledge and expertise, and about the information environment in which we operate. On that basis, we are able to make informed decisions about our own data and that which we consume.


“The power of manipulation. On dealing with propaganda and ‘fake news’ in the past and present” will be one of the panels of this year’s Körber History Forum on 13 and 14 May 2019.
Find more information, follow the live web-broadcast, or watch the video of the debate here.

 

Contact

Gabriele Woidelko
Head of Department History and Politics
Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 160
E-Mail woidelko@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @Woidelko

Kirsten Elvers
Programme Manager
Körber History Forum

Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 164
E-Mail elvers@koerber-stiftung.de

Bernd Vogenbeck
Programme Manager
Körber History Forum

Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 235
E-Mail vogenbeck@koerber-stiftung.de

to top

X

»Heutige Propaganda konfrontiert uns mit dem perfekten Sturm«

Während Propaganda in der Geschichte immer wiederkehrt, sind Umfang und Wirksamkeit heutiger manipulativer politischer Kommunikation beispiellos. Weltweit stehen Gesellschaften vor der Herausforderung, Verzerrung und Demagogie in der »post-faktischen Ära» zu begegnen. Welche Lehren bietet die Vergangenheit, um Propaganda in Schach zu halten? Die Historikerin Jo Fox vom Institute of Historical Research der University of London gibt Einsicht in das Thema und Ratschläge zum Umgang mit »Fake News« und Manipulation im 21 Jahrhundert.

Der Propaganda-Apparat der Nazis wird weithin als Inbegriff hocheffektiver politischer Kommunikation gesehen. Was hat die Propaganda der Nationalsozialisten so ansprechend und effektiv gemacht?

Es ist wichtig den Erfolg der Nazi Propaganda nicht zu überschätzen – sie war nur insofern erfolgreich, als ihre zentralen Behauptungen mit den schon bestehenden Überzeugungen der Zielgruppe übereinstimmten und somit glaubwürdig blieben. Nationalsozialistische Propaganda war vielschichtig: sie konnte laut und hartnäckig sein, beeindruckend und dynamisch, aber auch subtil, ausgeklügelt und unbemerkt tiefer verwurzelte Weltanschauungen ausnutzen. Goebbels wusste, dass Propaganda dann am erfolgreichsten war, wenn bestehende Meinungen, Anschauungen und Vorurteile verdreht und angepasst wurden, um besser zur ideologischen Position der Nationalsozialisten zu passen. Er war stolz auf seine Fähigkeit, »auf der Harfe des Menschen Seele die Saite anzuschlagen, die zum Klingen gebracht werden muss«. Meiner Ansicht nach erklärt das einen großen Teil des Erfolgs.

Welche Elemente einer solchen »historischen« Propaganda begegnen uns heute wieder?

Die Methode der Propaganda ist in ihrer Grundform bemerkenswert statisch. Das liegt hauptsächlich daran, dass sie auf menschlicher Psychologie basiert. Zugleich wird sie auf Situationen und Umgebungen angewandt, die sich schnell verändern – und das lässt es so aussehen, als sei sie ständig im Wandel. Was aber bleibt, ist dass Propaganda dann am erfolgreichsten ist, wenn sie mit bestehenden Meinungen und Überzeugungen übereinstimmt. Wichtig hierbei ist nicht was wahr ist, sondern vielmehr was wir bereit sind zu glauben. So kann man zum Beispiel einen stark überzeugten Brexit-Befürworter nicht mit Fakten beeinflussen, die die Vorteile einer EU-Mitgliedschaft aufzeigen. Wir sind noch immer anfällig für Propaganda, die unsere eigenen Meinungen bestätigt – das wird mit dem Begriff des »confirmation bias«, also der Voreingenommenheit, bestehendes Wissen und etablierte Überzeugungen zu bestätigen, umschrieben. Und das gilt heutzutage genauso wie früher.

Haben moderne Medien und ihre Allgegenwärtigkeit im Alltag die Funktionsweise und Effektivität von Propaganda verändert? Gibt es, aus Sicht der Historikerin, fundamentale Veränderungen? 

Die Funktionsweise von Propaganda hat sich nicht grundlegend verändert, aber die Umgebung in der Propaganda momentan agiert stellt uns vor neue Herausforderungen. Wir werden zurzeit mit einem perfekten Sturm konfrontiert: die Geschwindigkeit, der Umfang und die Tragweite moderner Kommunikationsformen wird verkompliziert durch den ungeklärten Status Sozialer Medien, die weder Plattform noch Verleger sind, und in denen versteckte Algorithmen kontrollieren, welche Informationen wir sehen. Hinzu kommt die steigende Frustration derjenigen, die sich von den Eliten entmachtet fühlen und das Verlangen einiger, das gesamte soziale und politische System zu destabilisieren. Sie wollen eine Situation herbeiführen, in der alle Ansichten unabhängig von ihrer Beweisgrundlage von gleichem Wert sind und in der psychologische Kriegsführung gleichsam »unterhalb des Radars« in einem ungeregelten Internet wirksam betrieben werden kann. Das ist der Traum eines jeden aktiven Propagandisten – nichts ist sicher, alles könnte glaubwürdig sein, Kommunikationsnetzwerke sind schnell und global. Ich würde argumentieren, dass es so etwas vorher noch nicht gegeben hat.

Das Ausrufen eines »postfaktischen Zeitalters« hat die Aufmerksamkeit darauf gelenkt, dass wissenschaftliche Objektivität nicht nur von subjektiven Meinungen und »alternativen Fakten« ersetzt wird, sondern systematisch untergraben wird. Wenn wissenschaftliche, oder zumindest eine pseudowissenschaftliche Rechtfertigung von ideologischen Behauptungen ein zentraler Grundsatz vergangener Propaganda war, erleben wir heute einen neuen Ansatz?

Auch in der Vergangenheit wurde Wissenschaft verdreht und abgelehnt, aus ideologischen oder finanziellen Gründen. Neu ist, wie facettenreich und in welchem Umfang und welcher Tragweite dies heute geschieht. Es ist an uns allen, den Wert und die Gültigkeit von Wissenschaft zu verteidigen – oder zumindest der uns bisher bekannten, wissenschaftlich fundierten Fakten. Es gibt keine »alternativen Fakten«; eher gibt es alternative Meinungen, die deutlich als solche gekennzeichnet werden müssen. In einigen Kreisen gibt es einen gemeinsamen Versuch, absichtlich Verwirrung zu stiften und uns davon zu überzeugen, dass wir jeglicher Information misstrauen sollten. Hierin liegt die wahre Gefahr. Man denke nur an den Klimawandel, um sich die katastrophalen Konsequenzen von »alternativen Fakten« vorzustellen. Denn in einer Umgebung, in der alle Fakten umstritten sind, oder in der sogar Politiker der gesellschaftlichen Mitte unbequeme Wahrheiten als »fake news« abtun, werden wir mehr und mehr unlogischen emotionalen Impulsen unterliegen. Dies wird beschleunigt durch den Verlust der bestehenden Medienumgebung und durch die Anfechtung der Bedeutung von Expertenwissen in der Gesellschaft, so dass das schiere Volumen an Informationen dafür sorgt, dass wir objektive Fakten aus den Augen verlieren.

Im Hinblick auf Propaganda, scheint es als bedingten sich Vertrauen und Täuschung gegenseitig. Können wir aus der Vergangenheit lernen, wem und wie wir vertrauen können?

Ich glaube nicht, dass wir »Lehren« aus der Vergangenheit ziehen können. Historische Ereignisse weisen jeweils eigene Besonderheiten auf. Die Vergangenheit versorgt uns allerdings mit Einblicken in die Bedingtheit von Entwicklungen – welche Entscheidungen und Optionen standen uns in der Vergangenheit in ähnlichen, wenn auch nicht denselben Situationen zur Verfügung? Und welche Entscheidungen wurden aus welchen Gründen getroffen? Menschen mussten schon immer entscheiden, wem sie vertrauen. Wie schon erwähnt ist das ist hauptsächlich davon abhängig welche Information wir besitzen und welche individuelle oder kollektive Bedeutung wir dieser Information zuweisen. Die Gefahr, der wir jetzt gegenüberstehen, ist, dass zulässige Anbieter von vertrauensvoller Information von Personen mit einer politischen Agenda als Kolporteure von »fake news« denunziert werden. Obwohl Öffentlichkeiten in modernen liberalen Demokratien im letzten Jahrhundert eine gesunde Skepsis gegenüber Nachrichtenquellen hatten, gab es noch immer einen angemessenen Grad an Vertrauen in etablierte, legitime Publikationen oder Sender. Das wird jetzt angegriffen, teilweise durch das Streben Einzelner nach politischem Vorteil und teilweise, weil sich die Beschaffenheit der Nachrichtenmedien insgesamt verändert hat.

Sie haben geschrieben, dass »die Kontrolle von Information eine Hauptsorge von Diktaturen war«. Können Regierungen heutzutage Fehlinformationen eindämmen, ohne selbst den öffentlichen Diskurs zu kontrollieren?

Das ist die Eine-Million-Dollar-Frage, oder eher die $142.7 Milliarden-Dollar-Frage – der geschätzte Vermögenswert von Facebook und Twitter zusammen. Moderne liberale Demokratien haben schon immer Probleme damit gehabt, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen dem Recht auf Meinungsfreiheit und der Notwendigkeit von Zensur sicherzustellen. Diese Herausforderung wurde durch das Aufkommen der Sozialen Medien verschärft. Diese ermöglichen nicht nur die weitgehend ungehinderte Zirkulation von ungeregelter und potentiell gefährlicher Kommunikation und elektronischer Propaganda, sondern erschaffen darüber hinaus eine Umgebung, in der wir nur Informationen finden oder mit solchen konfrontiert werden, die unseren Meinungen bereits entsprechen. Eine globale Echokammer also, die lediglich bestätigt, statt unsere eigenen Denkweisen herauszufordern, und in der wir die zum Schweigen bringen, deren Meinungen wir nicht billigen.

Man kann darüber streiten, ob dies allein nicht schon unsere Vorstellung von liberaler, demokratischer Meinungsfreiheit beschädigt hat, die ursprünglich durch Pluralität von und Respekt vor alternativen Meinungen charakterisiert war. Die Lösung dieses Problems liegt nicht in weitreichender Zensur. Das Kontrollieren der so genannten »Infosphäre« kann unbeabsichtigte Konsequenzen hervorrufen. Die Geschichte zeigt, dass mit steigender Zensur von Information die Skepsis der Öffentlichkeit gegenüber offiziellen Kanälen zunimmt und Bevölkerungen sich alternativen Informationen zuwenden – eventuell aus fragwürdigen Quellen.  Zweifellos kann man dafür plädieren die Sozialen Medien stärker zur Verantwortung zu ziehen und schädliche Falschinformation oder aufrührerische Materialien zu limitieren oder eliminieren. Allerdings muss das gepaart sein mit einem Programm der politischen Bildung, das uns bereits im jungen Alter kritisches Denken und den Wert von Wissen und Expertise beibringt, und das uns über die Informationsumgebung in der wir handeln informiert. So sind wir in der Lage, informierte Entscheidungen über unsere eigenen Daten und über die Daten die wir konsumieren zu treffen.

»Die Macht der Manipulation. Über den Umgang mit Propaganda und ‚Fake News‘ in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart« ist eines der Themen des diesjährigen Körber History Forums am 13. und 14. Mai 2019.
Mehr Informationen und den Live-Stream der Debatte finden Sie hier.

 

 

Kontakt

Gabriele Woidelko
Leitung Bereich Geschichte und Politik
Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 160
E-Mail woidelko@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @Woidelko

Geschichte und Politik auf Twitter

Kirsten Elvers
Programm-Managerin
Körber History Forum

Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 164
E-Mail elvers@koerber-stiftung.de

Bernd Vogenbeck
Programm-Manager
Körber History Forum

Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 235
E-Mail vogenbeck@koerber-stiftung.de

to top