X

Videos from the Körber History Forum 2019

The development of an international order after 1989

In her opening keynote to the Körber History Forum 2019 on 13 May in Berlin, the historian Mary Elise Sarotte of Johns Hopkins University in Washington shed light on the developments surrounding German and European reunification. Moderator: Gabriele Woidelko, Körber-Stiftung. Opening by Thomas Paulsen, Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung.

Video

What is the value of Europe?

Based on the Central Eastern European experience of transformation, what values will hold the European project together in future? The former President of the Republic of Poland, Bronisław Komorowski, gave answers in his keynote and the ensuing discussion with Thomas Paulsen, Körber-Stiftung.

Video

Is strong leadership a threat to democracy?

Past and present challenges posed by authoritarian leadership and populism to liberal democracy were discussed by the former Hungarian Minister Zoltán Balog, the French journalist Sylvie Kauffmann, the British political scientist Archie Brown and the historian Timothy Snyder of Yale University. Moderator: Daniel Brössler, Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Video

»Thinking beyond Versailles«

Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference, the historian Eckart Conze and moderator Dirk Kurbjuweit, Der Spiegel, assessed the Peace Treaty of Versailles and its impact on the international security order. In cooperation with Der Spiegel.

Video

A stolen past?

What is needed in order to achieve an egalitarian and forward-looking dialogue between former colonial powers and previous colonies? Answers were given by the Nigerian-American historian Nwando Achebe, the British historian Philip Murphy, the Kenian economist James Shikwati and Antje Leendertse, State Secretary at the German Federal Foreign Office. Moderator: Christine Gerberding, NDR.

Video

The power of manipulation

How have demagogy and manipulation been held in check in the past and what tools are needed to do so today? Discussion participants were the American historian Anne Applebaum, the American philosopher Jason Stanley, the British historian Jo Fox and the German political advisor Markus Engels. Moderator: Natalie Nougayrede, The Guardian.

Video

to top

X

Videos vom Körber History Forum 2019

Die Entwicklung einer internationalen Ordnung nach 1989

In ihrer Auftaktrede zum Körber History Forum 2019 am 13. Mai in Berlin erläuterte die Historikerin Mary Elise Sarotte von der Johns Hopkins Universität in Washington die Hintergrunde der deutschen und der europäischen Wiedervereinigung. Gabriele Woidelko, Körber-Stiftung, moderierte. Stiftungsvorstand Dr. Thomas Paulsen begrüßte die Gäste.

Video

Was ist der Wert Europas?

Was hält Europa – ausgehend von den Transformationserfahrungen nach 1989 – künftig zusammen? Diese Frage beantwortete der frühere Präsident der Republik Polen Bronisław Komorowski in seinem Vortrag und dem anschließenden Gespräch mit Dr. Thomas Paulsen, Körber-Stiftung.

Video

Ist starke Führung eine Bedrohung für die Demokratie?

Über das Verhältnis zwischen autoritärer Führung, Populismus und liberaler Demokratie in Geschichte und Gegenwart diskutierten der frühere ungarische Minister Zoltán Balog, die französische Journalistin Sylvie Kauffmann, der britische Politikwissenschaftler Archie Brown und der Historiker Timothy Snyder, Yale University. Daniel Brössler, Süddeutsche Zeitung, moderierte.

Video

»Jenseits von Versailles«

Wolfgang Ischinger, Vorsitzender der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, der Historiker Eckart Conze und Moderator Dirk Kurbjuweit, Der Spiegel, analysierten den Friedensvertrag von Versailles und dessen Auswirkungen auf die internationale Sicherheitsordnung. In Kooperation mit Der Spiegel.

Video

Eine geraubte Vergangenheit?

Was ist notwendig, um einen gleichwertigen und zukunftsgerichteten Dialog zwischen früheren Kolonialmächten und ehemaligen Kolonien zu erreichen? Antworten darauf gaben die nigerianisch-amerikanische Historikerin Nwando Achebe, der britischen Historiker Philip Murphy, der kenianische Ökonom James Shikwati und Antje Leendertse, Staatssekretärin im Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin. Christine Gerberding, NDR, moderierte.

Video

Die Macht der Manipulation

Wie kann Demagogie und Manipulation heutzutage Einhalt geboten werden und wie wurde historisch damit umgegangen? Darüber sprachen die US-amerikanische Historikerin Anne Applebaum, der US-amerikanische Philosophen Jason Stanley, die britische Historikerin Jo Fox und der deutsche Politikberater Markus Engels mit der Moderatorin Natalie Nougayrede vom Guardian.

Video

to top