+
Körber History Forum > Interview Weber

A clash of interpretations over World War Two history

In a speech delivered at an informal CIS meeting in St. Petersburg in December 2019, remarks made by Russian President Vladimir Putin manoeuvred Poland into a position of complicity in the outbreak of the Second World War. The ensuing international outcry went beyond a contained discord in Russian-Polish relations. Claudia Weber, expert in Eastern European History, spoke with Bernd Vogenbeck, Körber-Stiftung, about the fallout of this attempt to rewrite history.  

Russian President Vladimir Putin attacked Poland directly with statements concerning the lead-up to the Second World War, and Polish President Andrzej Duda recently cancelled his participation in the World Holocaust Forum in Jerusalem. What happened?

President Putin has been very aggressive on this issue of late. The subject of the history of the World War, as we can see very clearly, has been driving him more and more since the resolution of the EU Parliament last September to mark the 80th anniversary of the outbreak of the Second World War. The extent to which the tone has become more acute since then has surprised me, and also the fact that some rather unusual, even rude language is being heard in the process. Anger and rage can be made out, but also the clear political aim of asserting his own interpretations.

Does President Putin need this in order to distract from other Russian foreign policy challenges?

In the course of the International Holocaust Forum in Jerusalem, where he was treated quite differently from, say, the Poles, partly because of the strategic alliance between Israel and Russia in the Syrian conflict, but also in his speech there, it can be seen clearly that Putin is in a politically comfortable and advantageous situation. Due of his global increase in power, he is currently in a position to place and assert his interpretation of history on the international stage. And that is precisely what he is doing.

Is this aimed primarily at a Russian audience?

Putin's politics of memory, besides the fact that he also wants to influence the European World War narrative, is of course motivated by domestic politics and directed at his own people. For the majority, any questioning of the central integration myth of the Great Patriotic War and the victory over Hitler's Germany is practically impossible. The resolution of the European Parliament and the policies of the Polish government then constitute an affront, because they link the beginning of the Second World War directly and openly to the Hitler-Stalin Pact, the war alliance between National Socialist Germany and the Stalinist Soviet Union.

Which must be considered a sore point in the shiny narrative of the Great Patriotic War.

Yes, it is a sore point and one whose world war-triggering significance cannot be denied. Putin is not retelling the story and he does not deny the existence of the pact and its undisclosed additional protocols. But he does apply a different emphasis: The "shamefaced" way of dealing with the pact in the 1990s, which certainly included an acknowledgement of this dark chapter of Russia's own history, is over. Now the pact is seen as a clever move by Stalin's foreign policy, through which the Soviet Union was able to buy time and create a territorial buffer to Nazi Germany. This is an important reassessment, because now "we no longer have to be ashamed of the Hitler-Stalin Pact". Vladimir Putin's Petersburg speech at the end of December, however, shows that after the September resolution of the European Parliament, this reinterpretation is being taken a step further.

What has changed?

Now, it is asserted that even if the outbreak of the Second World War was made possible by the alliance of the Third Reich with the Soviet Union, the Hitler-Stalin Pact must be placed in the context of the actions of all the European players. In Saint Petersburg, Putin referred to treaties such as the German-British Fleet Agreement, the German-Polish Non-Aggression Treaty and the Munich Agreement. In this reading, the Hitler-Stalin Pact stands at the end of a pan-European development whose events and significance for the outbreak of the Second World War I would not want to dispute. On the contrary, I would argue in favour of taking a closer look at the European power game of the 1930s. In the new Russian interpretation, however, this power game is directly linked to the question of historical and political guilt. If Putin reframes the question of war guilt as one of “joint responsibility”, as it were, it is not a matter of historical-scientific reconsideration and change of perspective.

What should we then make of the promised opening of archives, through which Putin wants to counter historical falsification?

It will be selective and not provide any new insights, for example into German-Soviet cooperation at the beginning of the war. Documents, such as those regarding the joint handling of Jewish refugees by both occupying powers, reveal contradictions which the politics of memory generally seek to smooth out. They will probably be documents concerning the prehistory of the war.

In recent years, political dealing with history and memory has also led to Poland being confronted with international criticism –the so-called "Holocaust Law" or the treatment of prominent museum directors are cases in point. In what light are these actions to be seen?

Similarly to Russia, the aim is to dispel the contradictions and ambivalences of World War history in a revamped narrative that needs to be consolidated in public memory. At the centre of this problem-free narrative are glorified hero or victim accounts. The shades of grey of war, which were discussed much more strongly and openly in the 1990s and 2000s, are more difficult to communicate today. The problem with this development – both in Russia and Poland – is that both make themselves vulnerable through these simplistic, mythical narratives. As a point of fact: from a historiographical point of view you will be hard-pressed to argue away the close ties between the Third Reich and Poland in the mid-1930s.

Are we currently seeing a Europe-wide quest for new approaches to telling the story of the Second World War? Particularly in Germany, voices from the right-wing political spectrum are becoming louder that reject the current consensus on the memory of Nazi crimes. When national interests come to the fore, will appeals for common values and humanistic lessons from the Second World War become a thing of the past?

I do not believe that narratives that are based on drawing a humanistic lesson from the Second World War have reached their end. Yes, history is in motion and interpretations change. We must deal with this soberly and call certainties into question – also in Germany. If we cement narratives, we lose the ability to speak openly about history. We become weak in the face of downplaying violence and war crimes. Openly addressing historical contradictions is the best protection and ultimately indispensable, also in order to keep alive the awareness of Germany's responsibility for the Second World War and its crimes.

Claudia Weber is Professor of Contemporary European History at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder. An expert on Eastern European history and 20th century histories of violence and dictatorship, notable work of hers includes a seminal study of the massacres perpetrated by the Soviet Secret Service in Katyń, showing the entanglement of both totalitarian systems during the wartime occupation of Poland. Her current book, titled “The pact: Hitler, Stalin and the story of a murderous alliance”, focusses on the early phase of World War Two, between its outbreak and the German attack on the Soviet Union.

In our Podcast “History & Politics”, Claudia Weber elaborates on her research into the Hitler-Stalin Pact and its current relevance (in German).

Podcast History & Politics der Körber-Stiftung

Information about the Resolution of the  European Parliament

Speech of president Putin at the informal CIS summit, 20 December, 2019

Contact

Gabriele Woidelko
Head of Department History and Politics
Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 160
E-Mail woidelko@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @Woidelko

Kirsten Elvers
Programme Manager
Körber History Forum

Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 164
E-Mail elvers@koerber-stiftung.de

Bernd Vogenbeck
Programme Manager
Körber History Forum

Phone +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 235
E-Mail vogenbeck@koerber-stiftung.de

to top

X

Deutungskämpfe um die Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs

In einer Rede vor Staatschefs der GUS wies der russische Präsident Wladimir Putin im Dezember 2019 Polen eine Mitschuld am Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs zu. Dies führte nicht nur zwischen Polen und Russland, sondern auch international zu Verstimmungen. Über die Konsequenzen dieser versuchten Umdeutung der Geschichte sprach Bernd Vogenbeck, Körber-Stiftung, mit der Osteuropa-Historikerin Claudia Weber.

Mit Äußerungen zur Vorgeschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs hat russische Präsident Wladimir Putin Polen direkt attackiert, der polnische Präsident Andrzej Duda hat zuletzt seine Teilnahme am World Holocaust Forum in Jerusalem abgesagt. Was ist da passiert?

Präsident Putin ist in dieser Frage zuletzt sehr offensiv aufgetreten. Das Thema der Weltkriegsgeschichte, das kann man schon sehr deutlich merken, treibt ihn seit der Resolution des EU-Parlaments vom vergangenen September zum 80. Jahrestag des Beginns des Zweiten Weltkriegs verstärkt um. Das Maß, in dem sich der Ton seither verschärft, hat mich selbst überrascht, und auch, dass dabei eine für den Präsidenten eher ungewöhnliche, teils rüde Sprache zu hören ist. Da sind eine Wut und ein Zorn zu vernehmen, aber auch das klare politische Ziel, die eigenen Interpretationen durchzusetzen.

Braucht Präsident Putin das, um von anderen außenpolitischen Herausforderungen Russlands abzulenken?

Am Verlauf des Internationalen Holocaust Forums in Jerusalem, wo er unter anderem aufgrund der strategischen Allianz zwischen Israel und Russland im Syrien-Konflikt ganz anders behandelt wurde als etwa die Polen, aber auch an seiner dortigen Rede lässt sich gut erkennen, dass sich Putin in einer politisch komfortablen und vorteilhaften Situation befindet. Aufgrund seines globalen Machtzuwachses ist er gegenwärtig in der Position, seine Geschichtsdeutungen auf der internationalen Bühne zu platzieren und durchzusetzen. Und das tut er auch.

Richtet sich das zuerst an ein russisches Publikum?

Seine Geschichtspolitik ist, neben der Tatsache, dass Putin auch das europäische Weltkriegsnarrativ beeinflussen möchte, natürlich innenpolitisch motiviert und an die eigene Bevölkerung gerichtet. Für die Mehrheit ist jegliche Infragestellung des zentralen Integrationsmythos des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges und des Sieges über Hitlerdeutschland schier unmöglich. Die Resolution des Europaparlaments anlässlich des 80. Jahrestags des Kriegsausbruchs und die Politik der polnischen Regierung sind dann ein Affront, denn der Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs wird darin direkt und in aller Offenheit an den Hitler-Stalin-Pakt gekoppelt, das Kriegsbündnis zwischen dem nationalsozialistischen Deutschland und der stalinistischen Sowjetunion.

Das als wunder Punkt im strahlenden Narrativ des Großen Vaterländischen Kriegs gelten muss.

Ja, es ist der wunde und in seiner weltkriegsauslösenden Bedeutung auch nicht zu leugnende Punkt. Putin betreibt aber keine Neuerzählung und die Existenz des Pakts und seiner geheimen Zusatzprotokolle streitet er nicht ab. Aber er betont anders: Der »beschämte« Umgang mit dem Pakt in den 1990er Jahren, der durchaus eine Anerkennung dieses dunklen Kapitels der eigenen Geschichte beinhaltete, ist vorbei. Jetzt gilt der Pakt als geschickter Schachzug der Stalinschen Außenpolitik, durch den die Sowjetunion sich Zeit verschaffen und einen territorialen Schutzraum zu Nazi-Deutschland schaffen konnte. Das ist eine wichtige Umwertung, denn nun gilt: »Wir müssen uns nicht mehr für den Hitler-Stalin-Pakt schämen«. Die Petersburger Rede von Wladimir Putin Ende Dezember aber zeigt, dass nach der September-Resolution des Europaparlaments diese Umdeutung noch erweitert wird. 

Was hat sich verändert?

Nun gilt, dass, selbst wenn der Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs durch das Bündnis des Dritten Reichs mit der Sowjetunion ermöglicht wurde, der Hitler-Stalin-Pakt in den Kontext der Handlungen aller europäischen Akteure eingeordnet werden muss. Putin nannte in Sankt Petersburg Verträge wie das deutsch-britische Flottenabkommen, den deutsch-polnischen Nichtangriffsvertrag und das Münchner Abkommen. Der Hitler-Stalin-Pakt steht in dieser Lesart am Ende einer gesamteuropäischen Entwicklung, deren Ereignisse und Bedeutung ich für den Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs gar nicht abstreiten würde. Im Gegenteil plädiere ich dafür, das europäische Machtspiel der dreißiger Jahre stärker in den Blick zu nehmen. In der neuen russischen Deutung wird dieses Machtspiel allerdings direkt mit der geschichtspolitischen Schuldfrage in Verbindung gebracht. Wenn Putin die Schuld am Ausbruch des Krieges quasi »vergemeinschaftet«, geht es nicht um geschichtswissenschaftliche Neubetrachtungen und Perspektivwechsel.

Was ist dann von der versprochenen Öffnung von Archiven zu halten, durch die Putin Geschichtsverfälschung begegnen will?

Sie wird selektiv erfolgen und keine neuen Einsichten beispielsweise zur deutsch-sowjetischen Kooperation am Anfang des Kriegs eröffnen. Dokumente, etwa zum gemeinsamen Umgang beider Besatzungsmächte mit jüdischen Flüchtlingen, machen Widersprüche deutlich, die Geschichtspolitik eben überall und eigentlich immer glätten will. Es werden wohl Dokumente zur Vorgeschichte des Krieges sein.

Der staatliche Umgang mit Geschichte und Erinnerung hat in den letzten Jahren aber auch Polen internationaler Kritik ausgesetzt – etwa im Umfeld des so genannten »Holocaust-Gesetzes« oder im Umgang mit prominenten Museumsdirektoren. Wie ist dieses Agieren einzuordnen?

Ähnlich wie in Russland geht es darum, Widersprüchlichkeiten und Ambivalenzen der Weltkriegsgeschichte in einer renovierten Erzählung aufzulösen, die es in der öffentlichen Erinnerung zu verfestigen gilt. Im Zentrum dieses problemfreien Narrativs stehen glorifizierte Helden- oder Opfererzählungen. Die Grautöne des Krieges, die in den 1990er und 2000er Jahren viel stärker und offener diskutiert wurden, sind heute schwerer zu kommunizieren. Das Problem dieser Entwicklung – sowohl in Russland als auch in Polen – ist, dass sich beide durch diese vereinfachenden, mythischen Erzählungen angreifbar machen. Denn historiographisch lassen sich die engen Beziehungen zwischen dem Dritten Reich und Polen Mitte der 1930er Jahre ja nicht wegdiskutieren.

Beobachten wir zurzeit europaweit eine Suche nach neuen Ansätzen, die Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs zu erzählen? Gerade auch in Deutschland werden Stimmen aus dem rechten politischen Spektrum lauter, die den bisherigen Konsens über die Erinnerung des NS-Unrechts ablehnen. Wenn nationale Interessen in den Mittelpunkt rücken, verhallt der Appell an verbindende Werte und eine humanistische Lehre aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg?

Ich glaube nicht, dass Narrative, die auf eine humanistische Lehre aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg abheben, an ihr Ende gekommen sind. Ja, Geschichte bewegt sich und Deutungen verändern sich. Damit müssen wir nüchtern umgehen und Gewissheiten hinterfragen – auch in Deutschland. Wenn wir Narrative zementieren, verlieren wir die Fähigkeit, über Geschichte offen zu sprechen. Wir werden schwach gegenüber Relativierungen von Gewalt und Kriegsverbrechen. Ohne Scheuklappen mit historischen Widersprüchlichkeiten umzugehen ist der beste Schutz und letztlich unerlässlich, auch um das Bewusstsein der deutschen Verantwortung am Zweiten Weltkrieg und seinen Verbrechen lebendig zu halten.

Claudia Weber ist Professorin für Europäische Zeitgeschichte an der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Franfurt/Oder. Die Osteuropa-Historikerin und Expertin für Gewalt- und Diktaturengeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts hat zu den Massakern des sowjetischen Gemeindienstes NKWD in Katyn 1940 ein Standardwerk verfasst, in dem die gegenseitigen Verflechtungen der beiden totalitären Systeme in der Besetzungszeit Polens deutlich wurden. In ihrem aktuellen Buch »Der Pakt: Hitler, Stalin und die Geschichte einer mörderischen Allianz« hat sie sich der gesamten Weltkriegsphase zwischen Beginn des Krieges und dem deutschen Überfall auf die Sowjetunion zugewandt.

Über den Hitler-Stalin-Pakt und seine aktuelle Bedeutung spricht Claudia Weber im
Podcast History & Politics der Körber-Stiftung

Informationenen zur Resolution des Europäischen Parlaments
 
Rede von Präsident Putin vor den Staatschefs der GUS am 20. Dezember 2019

 

 

Kontakt

Gabriele Woidelko
Leitung Bereich Geschichte und Politik
Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 160
E-Mail woidelko@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @Woidelko

Geschichte und Politik auf Twitter

Kirsten Elvers
Programm-Managerin
Körber History Forum

Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 164
E-Mail elvers@koerber-stiftung.de

Bernd Vogenbeck
Programm-Manager
Körber History Forum

Telefon +49 • 40 • 80 81 92 - 235
E-Mail vogenbeck@koerber-stiftung.de

to top