+
Körber History Forum > 2021 > Videos

Videos from the Körber History Forum 2021

People and Power in the Digital Age

How does the digital public of today differ from social networks of the past? What is the impact of “big data” on democratic processes and institutions, how does the if/then logic of algorithms impact our lives and fortunes as societies? Historian Niall Ferguson, cyber expert and politician Marietje Schaake and Jamie Susskind, barrister and author, discuss about networks, power and consensus building in past, present and future. Moderator: Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook, Harvard Kennedy School, Cambridge MA.

Video

No More Optimism in Europe?

Author and historian Geert Mak and moderator Ariane Reimers jointly dig into European 20th Century history in order to trace the dismantling of the postwar order and the conditions, under which Europe might have lost Noptimism.

Video

Alliances and Divisions in a Changing Europe

The crises of 2008, 2015, and most recently 2020 broke up historic alliances and gave way to new, flexible coalitions in the European Union. German writer Nora Bossong, Dutch historian and author Geert Mak, former Finnish Prime Minister Alexander Stubb and Justin Vaïsse, founder and director-general of the Paris Peace Forum, discuss how 20th century history continues to influence alliances and obstruct cooperation in Europe. Moderator: Ariane Reimers, NDR/ARD broadcasting.

Video

What Next for Europe and the EU? Political Lessons from the Corona Crisis

Austrian Minister for EU and Constitution, Karoline Edtstadler, on the current issues of European politics and the future political developments of the EU. Moderator: Andreas Rinke, Chief Correspondent Thomson Reuters, Berlin

Video

Corona and Humanitarian Law

What are the historical preconditions that humanitarian law and the rule-based multilateral order define for global health equity today? A discussion with historian Mark Honigsbaum, former Rwandan Minister of Health and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Global Health Equity in Kigali, Agnes Binagwaho, and Armin von Bogdandy of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign Public Law. Moderator: Sven Stockrahm, Zeit Online, Berlin.

Video

Understanding Health as a Human Right

Agnes Binagwaho (University of Global Health Equity, Kigali) and Charlie Weller (Wellcome Trust, London) discuss equitable access to vaccines, the progress of the vaccination campaigns in African countries and the lessons of past pandemics.

Video

Shades of Authoritarianism and Populism

The Corona pandemic has reignited a debate on the “allure of the authoritarian” and the “temptation of populism”. Historian Ruth Ben-Ghiat, political scientist Jan-Werner Müller and Constanze Stelzenmüller of Brookings Institution talk about the rise of authoritarian and anti-democratic movements in the past and how autocrats and populists shape politics to this day.

Video

Public Debt and Crisis Management

Vice-President of Deutsche Bundesbank, Claudia Buch, economic analyst Silvia Merler and historian Quinn Slobodian discuss how fiscal policy has been used to manage crises in the past and why the Corona crisis necessitates a new understanding of sovereign debt. Moderator: Marc Beise, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Munich

Video

The Untold Stories of Black Europeans

The histories of people of African and European descent are complex and deeply intertwined. Historian Olivette Otele uncovers the untold history of Black Europeans and speaks about historical preconditions of current racism. Moderator: Christine Gerberding, NDR Broadcasting

Video

How Black is Europe? Historical Roots and the Societal Impact of Racism

Which political, legal, economic, and cultural practices form the basis for structural racism encountered by People of Colour? And what can policymakers do to enable equal representation in the political sphere and in society? Historian Fatima El-Tayeb, politician Momoudou Malcolm Jallow and historian Olivette Otele discuss the history and current reality of racism in Europe. Moderator: Christine Gerberding, NDR Broadcasting.

Video

Teaser Video – Körber History Forum 2021

Video (on Youtube)

to top

+
Körber History Forum > 2021 > Videos

Videos vom Körber History Forum 2021

Mensch und Macht im digitalen Zeitalter

Was unterscheidet die digitale Öffentlichkeit von heute von Netzwerken der Vergangenheit? Wie wirkt sich »Big Data« auf demokratische Prozesse und Institutionen aus und wie beeinflusst die »wenn-dann-Logik« unser gesellschaftliches Zusammenleben? Der Historiker Niall Ferguson, die Cyber-Expertin und Politikerin Marietje Schaake sowie der Autor und Rechtsanwalt Jamie Susskind diskutieren über Netzwerke, Macht und Mehrheitsbildung in Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Moderatorin: Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook, Harvard Kennedy School, Cambridge MA.

Video

Das Ende des Optimismus in Europa?

Gemeinsam blicken Autor und Historiker Geert Mak und die Moderatorin Ariane Reimers auf die europäische Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts zurück und begeben sich auf die Suche nach den Rissen in der kontinentalen Nachkriegsordnung und den Rahmenbedingungen, die dazu führten, dass Europa seinen Optimismus verlor.

Video

Bündnisse und Bruchlinien Europas in Zeiten des Wandels

Die Umbruchs- und Krisenjahre 2008, 2015 und zuletzt 2020 haben historische Bündnislinien aufgebrochen und neue, flexible Allianzen entstehen lassen. Die Schriftstellerin Nora Bossong, der niederländische Historiker Geert Mak, Alexander Stubb, ehemaliger Premierminister Finnlands, und Justin Vaïsse. Gründer und Generaldirektor des Paris Peace Forum, diskutieren, wie die Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts bis heute Bündnisse und Kooperation in Europa beeinflusst oder behindert.

Video

Wie weiter mit Europa und mit der EU? Politische Lehren aus der Corona-Krise

Die österreichische Bundesministerin für EU und Verfassung, Karoline Edtstadler, spricht über aktuelle politische Herausforderungen und zukünftige Entwicklungen der Europäischen Union. Moderator: Andreas Rinke, Chefkorrespondent Thomson Reuters, Berlin.

Video

Corona und Völkerrecht

Welche historischen Voraussetzungen entstehen aus dem Völkerrecht und der multilateralen regelbasierten Ordnung für globale Gesundheitsgerechtigkeit heute? Eine Diskussion mit dem Historiker Mark Honigsbaum, der ehemaligen Gesundheitsministerin Ruandas und heutigen Vizekanzlerin der Universität für Globale Gesundheitsgerechtigkeit in Kigali, Agnes Binagwaho, und Armin von Bogdandy, Direktor am Max Planck Institut für Ausländisches Öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht. Moderator: Sven Stockrahm, Zeit Online.

Video

Gesundheit als Menschenrecht

Agnes Binagwaho (Universität für Globale Gesundheitsgerechtigkeit, Kigali) und Charlie Weller (Wellcome Trust, London) diskutieren über gerechte Zugänge zu Impfstoffen, den Fortschritt der Impfkampagnen in afrikanischen Ländern und Lehren aus vergangenen Pandemien.

Video

Spielarten von Autoritarismus und Populismus

Die Corona-Pandemie hat die Debatte über den »Reiz des Autoritären« und die »Verführungen des Populismus« wiederbelebt. Die Historikerin Ruth Ben-Ghiat, und der Politikwissenschaftler Jan-Werner Müller diskutieren über den Aufstieg autoritärer und antidemokratischer Kräfte in der Vergangenheit und darüber, wie Autokraten und Populisten die aktuelle Politik prägen. Moderation: Constanze Stelzenmüller, Brookings Institution.

Video

Staatsverschuldung und Krisenmanagement

Ein Gespräch zwischen der Vizepräsidentin der Deutschen Bundesbank, Claudia Buch, der Wirtschaftsanalystin Silvia Merler und dem Historiker Quinn Slobodian darüber, welche Rolle Finanzpolitik in der Vergangenheit bei der Bewältigung von Krisen gespielt hat und warum die Corona-Krise ein neues Verständnis von Staatsverschuldung erforderlich macht. Moderator: Marc Beise, Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Video

Die verschwiegenen Geschichten Schwarzer Europäerinnen und Europäer

Die Geschichten von Menschen mit afrikanischen und europäischen Wurzeln sind komplex und eng miteinander verwoben. Die Historikerin Olivette Otele legt die verschwiegenen Geschichten Schwarzer Europäerinnen und Europäer frei und spricht über die historischen Wurzeln des aktuellen Rassismus. Moderation: Christine Gerberding, NDR Fernsehen.

Video

Wie Schwarz ist Europa? Historische Wurzeln und gesellschaftliche Folgen von Rassismus

Welche politischen, rechtlichen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Praktiken bilden die Grundlage für strukturellen Rassismus gegenüber Schwarzen Menschen? Und was sollte eine Politik leisten, die gleichberechtigte Repräsentationsmöglichkeiten in Politik und Gesellschaft zum Ziel hat? Die Historikerinnen Fatima El-Tayeb und Olivette Otele diskutieren mit dem schwedischen Politiker Momoudou Malcolm Jallow über Rassismus in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Moderation: Christine Gerberding, NDR Fernsehen.

Video

Teaser Video – Körber History Forum 2021

Video (auf Youtube)

to top