+
Körber Strategic Stability Initiative
   

Körber Strategic Stability Initiative

Over the course of one year, the Körber Strategic Stability Initiative regularly convenes a group of experts from China, Russia, the United States and Europe to develop policy options for current challenges in the area of arms control. Digital tools will support this process.

Background

The erosion of arms control regimes, the return of great power competition and fears of a new global arms race – amplified by technological innovations – pose a fundamental challenge to stability and security in the 21st century. While the era of bilateral arms control treaties dating from the Cold War is coming to an end, new actors have emerged that play a significant role in global peace and security.

These developments call for a rethinking of traditional concepts of arms control and strategic stability, and require creative approaches for peaceful cooperation between the major powers. For this purpose, Körber-Stiftung and the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (IFSH) have initiated the Körber Strategic Stability Initiative.

This project brings together selected experts from China, Russia, the United States and Europe to develop new ideas and approaches to strategic stability and the future of arms control. Besides on-site meetings in Germany, the group convenes for digital workshops, allowing for continuous exchange and interaction.

Key Findings

The key findings of the first three digital working sessions can be found here:

download (PDF)

Publications

Liana Fix, Ulrich Kühn, “Strategic Stability in the 21st Century” (PDF), in Russian Analytical Digest, No. 260 (20 Dec 2020).

Liana Fix, Ulrich Kühn, “Strategische Stabilität im 21. Jahrhundert”, in Russland-Analysen, Nr. 393 (7 Nov 2020)

Andrey Baklitskiy, Alexandra Bell, Tong Zhao, “Ein neuer Start für die Abrüstung”, SPIEGEL.de, 17 Sep 2020.

Andrey Baklitskiy, Alexandra Bell, Tong Zhao, “To Reboot Arms Control, Start with Small Steps”, defenseone.com, 19 Oct 2020. (Article in Russian on kommersant.ru, article in Chinese on carnegietsinghua.org).

Contact

Liana Fix
Programme Director
Berlin Foreign Policy Forum; Körber Policy Game; Körber Strategic Stability Initiative; The Berlin Pulse

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 77
fix@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @LianaFix

Christoph Heilmeier
Programme Manager
Berlin Foreign Policy Forum; Körber Strategic Stability Initiative

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 66
heilmeier@koerber-stiftung.de

Cooperation Partner

to top

+
Körber Strategic Stability Initiative
   

Körber Strategic Stability Initiative

Die Körber Strategic Stability Initiative versammelt regelmäßig einen festen Kreis von Expertinnen und Experten aus China, Russland, den USA und Europa, um Handlungsoptionen für aktuelle Herausforderungen der Rüstungskontrolle zu entwickeln. Digitale Instrumente unterstützen diesen Prozess.

Hintergrund

Die Erosion bestehender Rüstungskontrollabkommen, die Rückkehr eines Wettstreits der Großmächte sowie die Gefahr einen neuen, durch technologischen Fortschritt angetriebenen Rüstungswettlaufs stellen eine akute Bedrohung für Sicherheit und Stabilität im 21. Jahrhundert dar. Während sich die Ära bilateraler Rüstungskontrollabkommen aus den Zeiten des Kalten Krieges dem Ende zuneigt, spielen neue Akteure eine zunehmend bedeutende Rolle für Fragen von globaler Sicherheit und Frieden.

Diese Entwicklungen erfordern ein Neudenken traditioneller Konzepte von Rüstungskontrolle und strategischer Stabilität sowie kreative Ansätze zur Förderung friedenserhaltender Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Großmächten. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben die Körber-Stiftung und das Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik an der Universität Hamburg (IFSH) die Körber Strategic Stability Initiative ins Leben gerufen.

Dieses Projekt versammelt ausgewählte Expertinnen und Experten aus China, Russland, den USA und Europa, um neue Ideen und Lösungsansätze zu den Themen strategische Stabilität und Zukunft der Rüstungskontrolle zu entwickeln. Neben Arbeitstreffen in Deutschland kommt der Teilnehmerkreis auch in digitalen Workshops zusammen, die einen kontinuierlichen Austausch ermöglichen.

Ergebnisse

Die Ergebnisse der ersten drei digitalen Arbeitstreffen finden Sie hier:

Download (PDF)

Veröffentlichungen

Liana Fix, Ulrich Kühn, »Strategic Stability in the 21st Century« (PDF), in Russian Analytical Digest, No. 260 (20.12.2020).

Liana Fix, Ulrich Kühn, »Strategische Stabilität im 21. Jahrhundert«, in Russland-Analysen, Nr. 393 (7.11.2020)

Andrey Baklitskiy, Alexandra Bell, Tong Zhao, »Ein neuer Start für die Abrüstung«, auf SPIEGEL.de, 17.9.2020.

Andrey Baklitskiy, Alexandra Bell, Tong Zhao, »To Reboot Arms Control, Start with Small Steps«, auf defenseone.com, 19.10.2020. (Artikel auf Russisch auf kommersant.ru, Artikel auf Chinesisch auf carnegietsinghua.org).

Kontakt

Liana Fix
Programmleiterin
Berliner Forum Außenpolitik; Körber Policy Game; Körber Strategic Stability Initiative; The Berlin Pulse

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 77
fix@koerber-stiftung.de
Twitter @LianaFix

Christoph Heilmeier
Programm-Manager
Berliner Forum Außenpolitik; Körber Strategic Stability Initiative

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 66
heilmeier@koerber-stiftung.de

Kooperationspartner

to top