X

Munich Young Leaders, February 2017

For the ninth time, young foreign and security policy experts gathered on the sidelines of the Munich Security Conference from 16 – 19 February 2017.

Participants

Agenda

Gallery

Two Munich Young Leaders shared their experiences in Munich in our Blog:
Blog

Sunday, 19.02. 2017,
Discussion with Alexander Grushko

The last Round Table of this year’s Munich Young Leaders program took place with Alexander Grushko, Permanent Representative of Russia to NATO, whom earlier MYL classes also had a chance to meet. The discussion took off on the topic “What future for Russian-Western relations” and centered on the relation to the USA and Russia’s role in the Middle East.

Photos: Marc Darchinger

Saturday, 18 February 2017,
Discussion with Fu Ying

At the last Round Table of the day the Munich Young Leaders got the chance to discuss with Madame Fu Ying, Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the National People’s Congress of China. The discussion started off on “Seeking Security and Peace through Multi-Level Good Governance” and soon focused on China’s foreign trade and its position within the regional security architecture.

Saturday, 18 February 2017,
Discussion with Ursula von der Leyen

Even Federal Minister of Defense, Ursula von der Leyen, found some time in her busy schedule for a Round Table talk with the Munich Young Leaders. The obvious topic of the discussion was “Germany’s and Europe’s Role and Responsibility in the World”. Our Young Leaders had quite a few questions to pose to the minister, asking about some specific involvements of Germany in the World, setting out from the “Munich Consensus” of 2014. A positive outlook at the end were some remarks on women in the field of security politics and policy making.

Saturday, 18 February 2017,
Discussion with Fatou Bensouda

For a very inspiring discussion over lunch Dr. Fatou Bensouda, Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court at The Hague, met with the Munich Young Leaders. “The Promise and Challenges of the International Criminal Court” was proposed as the main topic, which reflected in the many questions this year’s class had on their minds on many current issues concerning human rights and war crimes and also on the general capacity for action of the ICC.

Saturday, 18 February 2017,
Discussion with Ng Eng Hen

The speaker at our first Round Table of the day was Ng Eng Hen, Minister of Defence of Singapore, who already met quite a few classes of Munich Young Leaders in the past years. Headlining topic of the session was “A Reset of the Global Order”, and the discussion soon focused on influence and position of the USA and China in a global context.

Friday, 17 February 2017,
Discussion with Anne Applebaum

Anne Applebaum, Columnist with the Washington Post and Director of the Transitions Forum of Legatum Institute, stopped by for the last MYL Round Table of the day. “The Future of the West: What is at stake?” was set as the general topic and the discussion shortly focused on generating truth and facts in politics and media – in the West and the world in general.

Friday, 17 February 2017,
Discussion with Ahmet Üzümcü

What are chances and challenges in the process of the prohibition of chemical weapons? This question was posed to Ahmet Üzümcü, Director General of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, in the fourth Munich Young Leaders Round Table 2017. As one of the central problems of the prohibition the inefficient international cooperation on the topic was identified.

Friday, 17 February 2017,
Discussion with Sven Mikser

Munich Young Leader of 2010, Sven Mikser, who is now Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, stopped by this year’s class to talk about making foreign policy at most challenging times. The ensuing discussion with the Munich Young Leaders centered on the complex relations of a number of countries with Russia.

Friday, 17 February 2017,
Discussion with Ine Eriksen Søreide

“Security in Europe and NATO’s Collective Defence Ability – Is Europe able to defend itself?” About this the Munich Young Leaders discussed with Ine Eriksen Søreide, the Minister of Defence of Norway. The discussion focused mostly on the inner cohesion of the EU and the impact of that on non-EU members and the world in general.

Friday, 17 February 2017,
Discussion with Vigen Sargsyan

The Opening Discussion of this year’s Munich Young Leaders’ program took place with Vigen Sargsyan, Minister of Defence of Armenia, who was a Munich Young Leader himself in 2009. The main topic of the discussion were regional dynamics in Eurasia and Armenia’s role, especially the close relationship between Russia and Armenia.

to top

X

Munich Young Leaders, Februar 2017

Zum neunten Mal treffen vom 16. bis 19. Februar 2017 junge Außen- und Sicherheitspolitikerinnen und -politiker am Rande der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz zusammen.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Munich Young Leaders 2017

Das Programm der Munich Young Leaders im Rahmen der 53. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz

Fotogalerie

Zwei der Munich Young Leaders haben die Erlebnisse in München im Blog festgehalten:
zum Blog

Fotos: Marc Darchinger

Sonntag, 19.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Alexander Grushko

Zum abschließenden Round Table der Munich Young Leaders 2017 besuchte uns Alexander Grushko, der Botschafter Russlands bei der NATO, der bereits mit früheren MYL-Jahrgängen sprach. Inhaltlich wurden die Beziehungen zwischen Russland und dem Westen besprochen, mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf dem Verhältnis zu den USA und der Rolle Russlands im Nahen und Mittleren Osten.

Samstag, 18.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Fu Ying

Beim letzten Round Table des Tages hatten die Munich Young Leaders die Gelegenheit zur Diskussion mit der Vorsitzenden des Auswärtigen Ausschusses Chinas, Madame Fu Ying. Im Großen ging es um das Erreichen von Sicherheit und Frieden durch Multi-Level Good Governance; im Detail wurde lebhaft über den Außenhandel Chinas und seine Rolle in der regionalen Sicherheitsarchitektur diskutiert.

Samstag, 18.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Ursula von der Leyen

Auch Bundesverteidigungsministerin Ursula von der Leyen fand Zeit für eine kurze Gesprächsrunde mit den Munich Young Leaders am Nachmittag. Diese war inhaltlich Deutschlands und Europas Rolle und Verantwortung im globalen Kontext gewidmet. Die Young Leaders hatten großen Gesprächsbedarf mit der Ministerin, zu konkreten Engagements Deutschlands in der Welt und dem »Münchener Konsensus« von 2014. Die Diskussion schloss mit einem positiven Ausblick zu Frauen im Bereich der Sicherheitspolitik.

Samstag, 18.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Fatou Bensouda

Zu einem Round Table über einem leichten Mittagsmahl konnten die Munich Young Leaders Dr. Fatou Bensouda begrüßen, Chefanklägerin des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs in Den Haag. Übergreifend waren das Thema dieser Diskussion die Hoffnungen an und Herausforderungen für den Internationalen Strafgerichtshof. Im Fokus der Fragen und Beiträge standen die konkreten Handlungsmöglichkeiten des IStGH mit Bezug auf mehrere explizite Fälle von Menschenrechtsverletzungen international.

Samstag, 18.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Ng Eng Hen

Gast beim ersten Round Table des Tages war Ng Eng Hen, Verteidigungsminister Singapurs, der bereits einige vorangegangene Munich Young Leaders-Jahrgänge während der MSC traf. Thema der Session war ein möglicher Neustart der globalen Ordnung. Ins Zentrum der Diskussion trat bald die sich sehr unterschiedlich entwickelnde Bedeutung der USA und Chinas.

Freitag, 17.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Anne Applebaum

Die Kolumnistin Anne Applebaum, die nicht nur für die Washington Post schreibt, sondern auch Direktorin des Transitions Forums des Legatum Intitute ist, war Gast im letzten Round Table der Munich Young Leaders am Freitag der MSC. Vom übergreifenden Thema der Zukunft des Westens und der Gefahren, die drohen, konzentrierte sich die Diskussion bald auf die Konstruktion von Wahrheit und Fakten in Politik und Medien – des Westens und der Welt.

Freitag, 17.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Ahmet Üzümcü

Welche Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten begleiten den Prozess des Verbots chemischer Waffen? Dieser Frage widmete sich Ahmet Üzümcü, der Generaldirektor der Organisation für das Verbot chemischer Waffen beim vierten Round Table der Munich Young Leaders 2017. Als zentrales Problem eines Verbots stellten sich die Hürden in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit in diesem Feld heraus.

Freitag, 17.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Sven Mikser

Sven Mikser, Munich Young Leader 2010 und heute Außenminister Estlands, besuchte den aktuellen Jahrgang, um mit ihnen über die Entwicklung von Außenpolitik in äußerst schwierigen Zeiten zu sprechen. Insbesondere die komplexen Beziehungen zu Russland waren Thema der anschließenden Diskussion mit den Munich Young Leaders.

Freitag, 17.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Ine Eriksen Søreide

Kann Europa sich selbst verteidigen? Über Sicherheit in Europa und die Verteidigungsbereitschaft der NATO diskutierten die Munich Young Leaders mit Ine Eriksen Søreide, der Verteidigungsministerin Norwegens. Der Fokus der Diskussion lag dabei auf dem inneren Zusammenhalt der EU und dessen Bedeutung für die Welt außerhalb der EU.

Freitag, 17.02.2017,
Diskussion mit Vigen Sargsyan

Die Auftaktdiskussion der Munich Young Leaders war ein Gespräch mit Vigen Sargsyan, dem Verteidigungsminister Armeniens, der selbst auch im Jahr 2009 Munich Young Leader war. Es wurde über regionale Dynamiken und die Rolle Armeniens diskutiert, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der Beziehung zwischen Russland und Armenien.

to top