X

Munich Young Leaders 2018

For the tenth time, young foreign and security policy experts gathered on the sidelines of the Munich Security Conference from 15 - 18 February 2018.

List of Participants

Agenda

Blog, in which two Munich Young Leaders are sharing their experiences

Discussion contributions

Photos: Marc Darchinger

Sunday, 18 February 2018
Discussion with Jens Spahn

At the conclusion of the Munich Security Conference, the Munich Young Leaders met the Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance, Jens Spahn. Topics of the talk were Germany’s role in Europe and the possible foreign policy of a new federal government.

Sunday, 18 February 2018
Discussion with Ng Eng Hen

Sunday began with a working breakfast with the Minister of Defense of the Republic of Singapore, Ng Eng Hen. In an open discussion, the minister and the participants exchanged views on the future challenges for global security.

Saturday, 17 February 2018
Discussion with Ursula von der Leyen

After a very interesting discussion at the last year’s conference, Federal Minister of Defence, Ursula von der Leyen, once again met with the Munich Young Leaders. The last debate of the day evolved around the question of Germany’s role in Europe and the world and a possible vision for the future of European and transatlantic military cooperation.

Saturday, 17 February 2018
Discussion with Herbert Raymond McMaster

In the early evening, the Munich Young Leaders got the chance to discuss with H. R. McMaster, National Security Advisor to the President of the United States of America. At this round table, McMaster touched upon a broad range of topics concerning global security and US foreign policy: from the nuclear conflict with North Korea and the Iran deal to the war in Syria.

Saturday, 17 February 2018
Discussion with Tzipi Livni

For lunch on Saturday, the Munich Young Leaders met with Tzipi Livni, Head of HaTnua Party, Co-leader of the Zionist Union Party, former Acting Prime Minister and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Israel. After an overview about the role of Israel in the region, the participants discussed the conflict in Syria and its effect on the security of Israel.

Saturday, 17 February 2018
Discussion with Jeffrey Feltman

The first discussions of the day took place with Jeffrey Feltman, Under-Secretary-General for Political Affairs at the United Nations. What is the role of the United Nations in crisis prevention? And how does the United Nations respond to the various conflicts that have already evolved? In the course of the discussion, the participants pursued the question how effective different instruments are that are being used in conflict prevention and crisis management.

Friday, 16 February 2018
Discussion with Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al Thani

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Qatar met with the 10th class of the Munich Young Leaders to talk about the diplomatic crisis between Qatar and the Gulf Cooperation Council. The ensuing discussion furthermore covered the relations of Qatar with other regional and global actors.

Friday, 16 February 2018
Discussion with Mark Leonard

Which events influenced the generation of the Munch Young Leaders in their perception of security challenges? And which challenges do they identify for the future? The Munich Young Leaders discussed these questions in an interactive format with Mark Leonard, Director of the European Council on Foreign Relations.

Friday, 16 February 2018
Discussion with Anders Fogh Rasmussen

At the start of their program, the Munich Young Leaders met with former Secretary General of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, Anders Fogh Rasmussen. Besides a number of global security challenges, especially the deployment of a possible United Nations peacekeeping force to Eastern Ukraine was discussed.

Gallery

Photos: Marc Darchinger

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    

  • Guest Commentary

    In cooperation with FAZ.net, selected Munich Young Leaders are taking a close look at foreign and security policy issues.

    What we need to do

    Fundamentals should not be questioned. But the inner glue of the transatlantic relationship cannot be the goal in itself for a generation that has a different estimation of proximity.
    by Julia Friedlander
    read more

    Security above all else

    Security is of particular importance to Poland. This desire for security is not only based on historical and emotional reasoning but on sound, rational motives. Agnieszka Łada comments on the Polish demand for security and takes a look at European and transatlantic defense structures.
    read more

    The Kairos of European Defence

    The Kairos, the opportune moment for action, has come. The EU has to fulfil its responsibility and invest more in European defense. Munich Young Leader Jean-Baptiste Jeangène Vilmer examines the possibilities for a credible European Defence Union.
    read more

    Migration that benefits all

    Migration is increasingly seen as a threat rather than an opportunity. Imen Ben Mohamed believes that this is a mistake. Legal migration pathways and a positive discourse are imperative for migration that benefits all.
    read more

    more press reports on the Munich Young Leaders

    The year 2018 will be crucial
    Munich Young Leader Jaiveer Shergill speaks at Deutschland.de about the most threatening conflicts the world is facing in 2018.
    read more

    Economy is the challenge and solution
    In an interview with Deutschland.de Munich Young Leader Imen Ben Mohamed points out economic development as a central aspect for countries in political transition.
    read more

    to top

X

Munich Young Leaders 2018

Zum zehnten Mal trafen vom 15. bis 18. Februar 2018 junge Außen- und Sicherheitspolitikerinnen und -politiker am Rande der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz zusammen.

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

Das Programm der Munich Young Leaders im Rahmen der 54. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz

Blog, in dem zwei Munich Young Leaders von ihren aktuellen Erlebnissen in München berichten

Diskussionsbeiträge

Fotos: Marc Darchinger

Sonntag, 18.02.2018
Diskussion mit Jens Spahn

Zum Abschluss der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz trafen sich die Munich Young Leaders mit dem Parlamentarischen Staatssekretär im Bundesfinanzministerium, Jens Spahn. Thematisiert wurden unter anderem Deutschlands Rolle in Europa sowie die möglichen außenpolitischen Linien einer neuen Bundesregierung.

Sonntag, 18.02.2018
Diskussion mit Ng Eng Hen

Der Sonntagmorgen begann für die Munich Young Leaders mit einem Arbeitsfrühstück mit dem singapurischen Verteidigungsminister Ng Eng Hen und einer offenen Diskussion nicht nur zu der Frage der Entwicklung des asiatisch-pazifischen Raums. Ng Eng Hen und die Teilnehmenden tauschten sich über ihre Sicht auf zukünftige Herausforderungen für die globale Sicherheitsarchitektur aus.

Samstag, 17.02.2018
Diskussion mit Ursula von der Leyen

Bundesverteidigungsministerin Ursula von Leyen war auch in diesem Jahr eine spannende Gesprächspartnerin im Kreis der Munich Young Leaders. Zentrales Thema der letzten Diskussion des Tages war Deutschlands Rolle in Europa und der Welt sowie die Zukunft der europäischen und transatlantischen militärischen Kooperation.

Samstag, 17.02.2018
Diskussion mit Herbert Raymond McMaster

Am frühen Abend hatten die Munich Young Leaders die Gelegenheit zur Diskussion mit H. R. McMaster, dem nationalen Sicherheitsberater des US-Präsidenten. Bei diesem Round Table wurde über zahlreiche Themen der globalen Sicherheit diskutiert: vom Atomkonflikt mit Nordkorea über den Atom-Deal mit dem Iran bis hin zum Krieg in Syrien.

Samstag, 17.02.2018
Diskussion mit Tzipi Livni

Zum Mittagessen am Samstag trafen die Munich Young Leaders Tzipi Livni, Vorsitzende der israelischen HaTnua Partei, Mitvorsitzende der Zionistischen Unions Partei, ehemalige stellvertretende Premierministerin und ehemalige Außenministerin Israels. Nach einem Überblick zu Israels Rolle in der Region wurde unter anderem der Konflikt in Syrien mit seinen Auswirkungen auf die israelische Sicherheit diskutiert.

Samstag, 17.02.2018
Diskussion mit Jeffrey Feltman

Die erste Diskussion des Tages führten die Munich Young Leaders mit Jeffrey Feltman, Untergeneralsekretär für politische Angelegenheiten bei den Vereinten Nationen. Welche Rolle spielen die Vereinten Nationen in der Krisen-Prävention? Und wie reagiert die Organisation auf Bedrohungen für den globalen Frieden? Im Zuge der Diskussion wurde auch der Frage nachgegangen, welche Instrumente die Vereinten Nationen für Konfliktprävention und Krisenmanagement nutzen und wie effektiv diese sind.

Freitag, 16.02.2018
Diskussion mit Scheich Mohammed bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al Thaniv

Der stellvertretende Ministerpräsident und Außenminister des Emirats Katar traf den 10. Jahrgang der Munich Young Leaders, um mit ihnen über die diplomatische Krise zwischen Katar und dem Golf-Kooperationsrat zu sprechen. Auch die Beziehungen des Golfstaates zu anderen regionalen und internationalen Akteuren waren Themen der Diskussion.

Freitag, 16.02.2018
Diskussion mit Mark Leonard

Welche Ereignisse prägten die Generation der Munich Young Leaders in ihrer Wahrnehmung sicherheitspolitischer Herausforderungen? Und welche Herausforderungen identifizieren sie für die Zukunft? In einem interaktiven Diskussionsformat tauschten sich die Munich Young Leaders mit Mark Leonard, Direktor des European Council on Foreign Relations zu diesen Fragestellungen aus.

Freitag, 16.02.2018
Diskussion mit Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Den Auftakt des Munich Young Leaders-Programm bildete ein Gespräch mit dem ehemaligen Generalsekretär der North Atlantic Treaty Organisation Anders Fogh Rasmussen über aktuelle sicherheitspolitische Herausforderungen nicht nur für die Militärallianz. Diskutiert wurde in dieser Sitzung unter anderem die Möglichkeit, eine Friedensmission der Vereinten Nationen zur Befriedung des Ukraine-Konfliktes einzusetzen.

Fotogalerie

Fotos: Marc Darchinger


Gast-Kommentare

In Kooperation mit FAZ.net kommentieren ausgewählte Munich Young Leaders außen- und sicherheitspolitische Themen.

Was wir Amerikaner und Europäer jetzt tun müssen

Die zunehmend ungemütliche Nachbarschaft Europas verlangt eine angemessene strategische Kultur. Es ist Zeit, dass wir uns an die Arbeit machen.
von Julia Friedlander
zum Bericht

Sicherheit über alles

Sicherheit ist für Polen von besonderer Bedeutung. Dieses Bedürfnis ist nicht allein historisch-emotional begründet, es basiert auf rationalen Motiven. Agnieszka Łada kommentiert das Sicherheitsbedürfnis der Polen und blickt auf europäische und transatlantische Verteidigungsstrukturen.
zum Bericht

Der Kairos europäischer Verteidigungspolitik

Der Kairos, der richtige Moment zu handeln, ist für den Aufbau einer glaubwürden europäischen Verteidigungsunion gekommen, argumentiert Munich Young Leader Jean-Baptiste Jeangène Vilmer. Die EU muss ihrer Verantwortung gerecht werden und mehr für die europäische Verteidigung tun.
zum Bericht

Von Migration profitieren alle

Migration wird zunehmend als Bedrohung und nicht als Chance gesehen. Nach Imen Ben Mohamed ist dies ein Fehler. Legale Wege der Migration und ein positiver Diskurs sind zwingend erforderlich, damit alle von Migration profitieren können.
zum Bericht

weitere Pressemeldungen zu den Munich Young Leaders

2018 ist ein entscheidendes Jahr
Munich Young Leader Jaiveer Shergill spricht auf Deutschland.de über die bedrohlichsten Konflikte im Jahr 2018.
zum Interview

Wirtschaft als Herausforderung
Im Gespräch mit Deutschland.de stellt Munich Young Leader Imen Ben Mohamed wirtschaftliche Entwicklung als Herausforderung für Länder im politischen Umbruch heraus.
zum Interview

Diese jungen Leute
Die Süddeutsche Zeitung portraitiert das Munich Young Leaders-Programm.
zum Artikel

to top