X

Munich Young Leaders 2019

From 15 - 17 February 2019, the eleventh generation of Munich Young Leaders gathered in Munich. The Munich Young Leaders 2019 are a group of young foreign and security policy experts from more than 20 nations.

The Munich Young Leaders discussed a broad range of topics with high-ranking participants of the Conference, such as Kersti Kaljulaid, President of the Republic of Estonia, Ivanka Trump, Advisor to the President of the United States of America, Christine Lagarde, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund, and Rosemary DiCarlo, Under-Secretary-General for Political and Peacebuilding Affairs, United Nations.

List of Participants (PDF)

Tweet #msc_myl

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Discussion contributions

    Photos: Marc Darchinger

    Sunday, 17 February 2018
    Discussion with Kersti Kaljulaid

    At the conclusion of an exciting weekend at the Munich Security Conference, the Munich Young Leaders met for a working breakfast with Kersti Kaljulaid, president of the Republic of Estonia. At this round table, the topic of the discussions was cybersecurity. President Kaljulaid and the Munich Young Leaders discussed the influence of technology on foreign relations and the chances and threats of global digitalization.

    Saturday, 16 February 2018
    Discussion with Major General Yao Yunzhu

    The last background discussion of the day dealt with relations between China and the United States. Is China entering a Cold War with the US? Major General Yao Yunzhu, Director Emeritus of the Center on China-American Defence Relations at China’s People's Liberation Army, talked about the risk of escalation in the South China Sea and tensions between China, its neighbors and the United States.

    Saturday, 16 February 2018
    Discussion with Günther H. Oettinger

    In the late afternoon, the Munich Young Leaders met with Günther H. Oettinger, EU Commissioner for Budget and Human Resources. The debate revolved around the EU budget, European values and the future of the EU after brexit.

    Saturday, 16 February 2018
    Discussion with Ng Eng Hen

    For lunch, the Munich Young Leaders got the chance to discuss with Ng Eng Hen, Minister of Defence of the Republic of Singapore. Dr. Ng spoke about security issues in the Asia-Pacific region and discussed the necessity of preserving the multilateral rules-based order in an era of uncertainty.

    Saturday, 16 February 2018
    Discussion with Christine Lagarde

    Where will the next financial crises come from? Which economies are economically rising? These questions where discussed at an inspiring early breakfast with Christine Lagarde, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Madame Lagarde also talked about the challenges for female leaders, who are still underrepresented on the international stage.

    Friday, 15 February 2018
    Discussion with Ivanka Trump

    In the early evening, the Munich Young Leaders got the chance to meet with Ivanka Trump, Advisor to the President of the United States of America. She talked about the role of women empowerment in international relations and her Women’s Global Development and Prosperity Initiative, a new fund at the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) to support proposals that enable women to succeed in the economy. During the discussion she emphasized the role of women for global stability.

    Friday, 15 February 2018
    Discussion with Rosemary DiCarlo

    The first background discussion as part of the exclusive programme for the Munich Young Leaders was held with Rosemary DiCarlo, Under-Secretary-General for Political and Peacebuilding Affairs at the United Nations. Rosemary DiCarlo spoke about the role of the UN in Conflict prevention. Participants discussed the biggest threats to global peace and security, how the UN will tackle those threats, and possible ways in which the UN engagement can be shaped more effectively.

    Gallery

    Photos: Marc Darchinger

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Videos

    Four Munich Young Leaders share their impressions of the 55th Munich Security Conference in short video clips:

    Guest Commentary

    In cooperation with FAZ.net, selected Munich Young Leaders are taking a close look at foreign and security policy issues.

    Don’t let late-night tweets distract you

    Despite President Trump’s continuous critique of NATO, most members of his own administration are staunch advocates of the Alliance. Congressional members across both parties and chambers are working towards strengthening NATO. Read the whole comment on FAZ.net by Naz Durakoğlu, Senior Foreign Policy Advisor at the US Senate and Munich Young Leader 2019.
    read more

    Brexit and Europe’s security

    Great Britain and the EU will remain strong allies, even after Brexit. But a Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) of the EU that would compete with NATO, would weaken European security. Read on FAZ.net the comment of Alan Mak, Member of the UK parliament (House of Commons) and Munich Young Leader 2019.
    read more

    to top

X

Munich Young Leaders 2019

Vom 15. bis 17. Februar 2019 kam der elfte Jahrgang der Munich Young Leaders zusammen. Die Munich Young Leaders 2019, eine Gruppe junger Außen- und Sicherheitspolitikerinnen und -politiker aus über 20 Nationen, hat an dem Programm der 55. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz teilgenommen und in Hintergrundgesprächen mit hochrangigen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern der Sicherheitskonferenz diskutiert.

Zu den Gesprächspartnerinnen und -partnern gehörten dieses Jahr unter anderem Kersti Kaljulaid, Präsidentin der Republik Estland, Ivanka Trump, Beraterin des Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, Christine Lagarde, geschäftsführende Direktorin Internationalen Währungsfonds, und Rosemary DiCarlo, Untergeneralsekretärin für Politische Angelegenheiten und Friedenseinsätze bei den Vereinten Nationen.

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer (PDF)

Tweets zu #msc_myl

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Diskussionsbeiträge

    Fotos: Marc Darchinger

    Sonntag, 17.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Kersti Kaljulaid

    Zum Abschluss eines intensiven und spannenden Wochenendes bei der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz trafen sich die Munich Young Leaders mit der estnischen Präsidentin Kersti Kaljulaid. Bei dem Arbeitsfrühstück zum Thema Cyber-Sicherheit und dem Einfluss von neuen Technologien auf die Außenpolitik wurde unter anderem über die Chancen und Risiken der globalen Digitalisierung für den Multilateralismus diskutiert.

    Samstag, 16.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Generalmajorin Yao Yunzhu

    Die letzte Gesprächsrunde des Tages widmete sich den Chinesisch-Amerikanischen Beziehungen. Stehen wir vor einem neuen Kalten Krieg zwischen China und den USA? Darüber diskutierte Generalmajorin Yao Yunzhu, ehemalige Direktorin am Zentrum für Chinesisch-Amerikanische Verteidigungsbeziehungen der Chinesischen Volksbefreiungsarmee, mit den Munich Young Leaders.

    Samstag, 16.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Günther H. Oettinger

    Am frühen Abend hatten die Munich Young Leaders die Gelegenheit, mit dem EU-Kommissar für Haushalt und Personal, Günther H. Oettinger, zu sprechen. Bei der Diskussionsrunde sprach Kommissar Oettinger über den EU-Haushalt, Europäische Werte und die Zukunft der Europäischen Union nach dem Brexit.

    Samstag, 16.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Ng Eng Hen

    Zum Mittagessen am Samstag trafen sich die Munich Young Leaders mit dem singapurischen Verteidigungsminister Ng Eng Hen. Dr. Ng diskutierte mit den Munich Young Leaders über die Sicherheit in der Region Asien-Pazifik und betonte die Notwendigkeit die multilaterale regelbasierte Weltordnung im heuteigen Zeitalter der Ungewissheit zu bewahren.

    Samstag, 16.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Christine Lagarde

    Stehen wir vor einer neuen Finanzkrise? Welche Regionen und Staaten erleben einen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung? Darüber diskutierten die Munich Young Leaders nach einer kurzen Nacht mit Christine Lagarde, geschäftsführende Direktorin des Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF). Außerdem sprach die IWF-Direktorin über die Herausforderungen für Frauen in internationalen Führungspositionen.

    Freitag, 15.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Ivanka Trump

    Am frühen Abend hatten die Munich Young Leaders die Gelegenheit zur Diskussion mit Ivanka Trump, Tochter und Beraterin des Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten Amerikas. Ivanka Trump sprach über Frauen Empowerment in der internationalen Politik und stellte ihre Women’s Global Development and Prosperity Initiative vor, ein Fonds der US Agentur für Internationale Entwicklung (USAID). Sie betonte bei dem Gespräch die besondere Rolle von Frauen für globale Stabilität.

    Freitag, 15.02.2019
    Diskussion mit Rosemary DiCarlo

    In dem ersten Hintergrundgespräch dieses Jahr traf der 11. Jahrgang der Munich Young Leaders Rosemary DiCarlo, Untergeneralsekretärin für Politische Angelegenheiten und Friedenseinsätze bei den Vereinten Nationen. Bei dem Gespräch wurde über die aktuellen Bedrohungen für den globalen Frieden und die Rolle der Vereinten Nationen in der Krisen-Prävention diskutiert, und der Frage nachgegangen, wie die friedenserhaltenden Missionen der Vereinten Nationen effektiver gestaltet werden können.

    Fotogalerie

    Fotos: Marc Darchinger

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Videos

    Vier Munich Young Leaders teilen ihre Eindrücke von der 55. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz in kurzen Videoclips:

    Gast-Kommentare

    In Kooperation mit FAZ.net kommentieren ausgewählte Munich Young Leaders außen- und sicherheitspolitische Themen.

    Keine Sorge vor nächtlichen Tweets

    Trotz Trumps Kritik an der NATO sind die meisten Mitglieder der US-Administration überzeugte Befürworter des Bündnisses. Mitglieder des Kongresses beider Parteien und Kammern arbeiten daran, das Bündnis zu stärken. Lesen Sie mehr auf FAZ.net, in dem Kommentar von Naz Durakoğlu, Senior Foreign Policy Advisor im US Senat und Munich Young Leader 2019.
    zum Kommentar

    Der Brexit und Europas Sicherheit

    Auch nach dem Brexit bleiben Großbritannien und die EU weiterhin enge Verbündete. Allerdings würde eine Gemeinsame Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik (GSVP) der EU, die in Konkurrenz zur NATO stünde, eine Schwächung für die europäische Sicherheit bedeuten. Das meint Alan Mak, Abgeordneter im britischen House of Commons und Munich Young Leader 2019 auf FAZ.net
    zum Kommentar

    Pressemeldungen zu den Munich Young Leaders

    Voneinander lernen
    Ein Porträt der Munich Young Leaders in der Süddeutsche Zeitung
    zum Interview

    to top