+
Munich Young Leaders > Round Tables > 2020

Munich Young Leaders 2020

From 14 - 16 February 2020, the twelfth generation of Munich Young Leaders will gather in Munich.
The Munich Young Leaders 2020, a group of young foreign and security policy experts from more than 20 nations, will discuss a broad range of topics with high-ranking participants of the 56th Munich Security Conference and take part in the program of the conference.

List of Participants (PDF)

Tweet #msc_myl

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Discussion contributions

    Photos: Sebastian Gabsch

    Friday, 14.02.2020
    Discussion among Munich Young Leaders

    This year’s Munich Young Leaders programme began with a discussion among the participants. In small groups, they exchanged their views on skills an exceptional leader needs to have. Then, the group turned toward the title of this year’s Munich Security Report, “Westlessness”, and discussed the future of the West. Is the decline of the West inevitable?

    Friday, 14.02.2020
    Discussion with Ronen Bergman

    For their first background discussion, the Munich Young Leaders met with Ronen Bergman, investigative journalist at the Israeli newspaper Yedioth Ahronoth and The New York Times Magazine. The discussion focused on the peace plan of President Trump and the assassination of General Soleimani.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Discussion with Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer

    On Saturday morning, the Munich Young Leaders met with the German Minister of Defence, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer. The discussion covered a broad range of topics, such as Germany’s role in Europe, migration and security, as well as the termination of the INF treaty and its consequences.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Discussion with Eric Schmidt

    It was followed by a discussion with Eric Schmidt, former CEO of Google and Chair of the National Security Commission on Artificial Intelligence. The controversy about 5G and Huawei was a recurring theme in the discussion, but also artificial intelligence in weapon systems and cyber security.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Discussion with Ng Eng Hen

    The conversation between Singapore’s Minister of Defence, Ng Eng Hen, and the Munich Young Leaders revolved around the question how to build consensus in a divided world.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Meet and Greet with Prince Faisal bin Farhan al-Saud

    The Foreign Minister of Saudi Arabia, Prince Faisal bin Farhan bin Abdullah al-Saud, and the Munich Young Leaders met for an informal exchange and talked about Saudia Arabia’s role in the region.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Discussion with Subrahmanyam Jaishankar

    On Saturday evening the group spoke with the Foreign Minister of India, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar. The round table covered topics such as India’s strategic aims in the Indo-Pacific, but also the potential of closer India-EU cooperation and India’s role in the fight against climate change. The forthcoming Annual Meeting in New Delhi will give the Munich Young Leaders the opportunity to deepen these discussions.

    Saturday, 15.02.2020
    Discussion with Fu Ying

    Due to the latest developments the conversation with Fu Ying, Co-Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the 13th National People’s Congress of the People’s Republic of China, and the Munich Young Leaders focused on the implications of the outbreak of the Corona Virus, but also touched upon topics such as climate change and the 5G debate.

    Sunday, 16.02.2020
    Discussion with Gro Harlem Brundtland

    The final background discussion of this year’s Munich Young Leaders programme hosted Gro Harlem Brundtland, former Prime Minister of Norway and Acting Chairwoman of “The Elders”. She spoke about the Brundtland report, which defined the concept of “sustainable development” and what has changed since its publication in 1987. She stressed that multilateral leadership is necessary in order to tackle the challenges in the fight against climate change and poverty.

    Gallery

    Photo: Sebastian Gabsch

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Videos

    Participants and a speaker of this year’s Munich Young Leaders programme share their thoughts:

    to top

+
Munich Young Leaders > Round Tables > 2020

Munich Young Leaders 2020

Vom 14. bis 16. Februar 2020 wird der zwölfte Jahrgang der Munich Young Leaders zusammenkommen. Die Munich Young Leaders 2020, eine Gruppe junger Außen- und Sicherheitspolitikerinnen und -politiker aus über 20 Nationen, werden am Programm der 56. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz teilnehmen und in Hintergrundgesprächen mit hochrangigen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern der Sicherheitskonferenz diskutieren.

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer (PDF)

Tweets zu #msc_myl

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Diskussionsbeiträge

    Fotos: Sebastian Gabsch

    Freitag, 14.02.2020
    Interne Diskussion

    Den Auftakt des Munich Young Leaders-Programms bildete eine interne Diskussionsrunde. Die Teilnehmenden tauschten sich in Kleingruppen zunächst über Leadership aus und darüber, welche Führungsqualitäten ein Leader besitzen sollte. Dann wandte sich die Runde dem Titel des diesjährigen Munich Security Report, »Westlessness«, zu und diskutierte die Zukunft des Westens. Ist der Zerfall des Westens unaufhaltbar?

    Freitag, 14.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Ronen Bergman

    Beim ersten Hintergrundgespräch in diesem Jahr traf der 12. Jahrgang der Munich Young Leaders Ronen Bergman, Chefkorrespondent für Militär- und Geheimdienstangelegenheiten bei der israelischen Tageszeitung Yedioth Ahronoth und Journalist beim New York Times Magazine. Das Gespräch drehte sich in erster Linie um den Nahost-Friedensplan von Präsident Trump und die Tötung von General Soleimani.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer

    Am Samstagvormittag trafen die Munich Young Leaders die deutsche Verteidigungsministerin Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer. Die Themen der Diskussion waren so vielfältig wie die Hintergründe der Teilnehmenden und beinhalteten Fragen zur Rolle Deutschlands in Europa, zu Sicherheit und Migration oder auch zur Aufkündigung des INF Vertrags und deren Folgen.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Eric Schmidt

    Ein spannendes Gespräch mit Eric Schmidt, ehemaliger CEO von Google und Vorsitzender der Nationalen Sicherheitskommission für künstliche Intelligenz, schloss sich an. Das Thema 5G und Huawei nahm einen großen Raum in der Debatte ein, aber auch der Einsatz künstlicher Intelligenz in Waffensystemen und Cybersicherheit.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Ng Eng Hen

    Der singapurische Verteidigungsminister, Ng Eng Hen, diskutierte mit den Munich Young Leaders die Frage, wie man Einigkeit und Zusammenhalt schaffen kann in einer Welt, die zunehmend von nationalistischen Tendenzen geprägt und gespalten ist.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Meet and Greet mit Prinz Faisal bin Farhan al-Saud

    Der Außenminister von Saudi-Arabien, Prinz Faisal bin Farhan bin Abdullah al-Saud, traf die Munich Young Leaders zu einem kurzen informellen Austausch am Rande der Sicherheitskonferenz und sprach mit ihnen über die Rolle Saudi-Arabiens in der Region.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Subrahmanyam Jaishankar

    Am frühen Abend sprach die Gruppe mit dem indischen Außenminister, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar. Bei diesem Hintergrundgespräch wurde über Indiens Strategie im Indopazifik, aber auch die Chancen einer engeren Kooperation zwischen Indien und der EU gesprochen. Auch der Klimawandel war Gegenstand des Gesprächs. Das im Herbst in Neu-Delhi stattfindende Annual Meeting wird den Munich Young Leaders die Möglichkeit geben, diese Debatten zu vertiefen.

    Samstag, 15.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Fu Ying

    Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation waren die Folgen des Ausbruchs des Corona-Virus das dominierende Thema des Gesprächs mit Fu Ying, Vize-Vorsitzende des Auswärtigen Ausschusses im Nationalen Volkskongress der Volksrepublik Chinas. Zudem sprach sie mit den Munich Young Leaders über die Maßnahmen der chinesischen Regierung gegen den Klimawandel und die Auswirkungen der 5G-Debatte.

    Sonntag, 16.02.2020
    Diskussion mit Gro Harlem Brundtland

    Den Abschluss der Hintergrundgespräche im Munich Young Leaders-Programm bildete ein inspirierendes Gespräch mit Gro Harlem Brundtland, ehemalige Premierministerin von Norwegen und Vorsitzende der »Elders«. Sie sprach über den Brundtland Report, der das Konzept »Nachhaltige Entwicklung« definierte, und was sich seit dessen Erscheinen 1987 verändert hat. Sie betonte die Notwendigkeit multilateralen Handelns für nachhaltige Entwicklung und diskutierte mit den Teilnehmenden die Herausforderungen im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und Armut.

    Fotogalerie

    Foto: Sebastian Gabsch

  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  •    
  • Videos

    Teilnehmende des Munich Young Leader-Programms und ein Sprecher teilen ihre Eindrücke in kurzen Videoclips:

    to top