X

Paris Peace Forum 2018

The first edition of the Paris Peace Forum took place at the Grande Halle de La Villette from 11 to 13 November 2018. 100 years after the end of the First World War, French President Emmanuel Macron, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and the Secretary-General of the United Nations, Antonio Guterres, inaugurated the Forum together with more than 70 Heads of States and Government as well as leaders of international organisations. Körber Foundation, as one of the Founding Members of the Forum, was directly involved in the conceptualisation, organisation and implementation of the event.

During the three days of the Forum, concrete solutions to global governance challenges were front and centre. For this purpose, 121 projects and initiatives from more than 40 countries and from 10 international organisations were presented in the Space for Solutions. Project leaders also discussed their ideas with other participants in dozens of pitches and so-called Braindates. In the Space for Innovation, 80 programmers and developers from around the world produced digital solutions for improving financial data transparency in a three-day hackathon. Lastly, the Space for Debates facilitated dialogue on crosscutting and sometimes controversial issues of global governance. Stakeholders from politics, the economy, civil society organisations and other sectors came together for more than 70 conversations, fishbowl discussions, brainstorms, masterclasses and press conferences in order to jointly carve out ideas and solutions to creating sustainable peace.

Within the diverse programme of the Paris Peace Forum, the Körber Foundation proudly hosted three exclusive debates:

Sunday, 11 November 2018:
Multilateralism in Danger?

Following the opening of the Paris Peace Forum, Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs of the Körber Foundation, moderated a roundtable discussion on the topic of “Multilateralism in Danger?”. Among the panellists were Cardinal State Secretary Pietro Parolin, Alpha Barry, Foreign Minister of Burkina Faso, and the Ambassador of the Republic of Chad to France, Amine Abba Sidick.

Video

Monday, 12 November 2018:
Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council

How can confidence in the UN Security Council be restored? What should a possible reform of the Security Council look like? Ian Bremmer, President of the Eurasia Group, moderated the discussion with Nadia Murad, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 2018, Martin Kobler, German Ambassador to Pakistan, Almut Wieland-Karimi, Director of the Centre for International Peace Operations (ZIF), Smail Chergui, Commissioner for Peace and Security of the African Union, and Bruno Stagno Ugarte, Deputy Managing Director for Advocacy of Human Rights Watch.

Video

Tuesday, 13 November 2019:
Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question

JIN Keyu, Associate Professor at the Department of Economics at the London School of Economics, Igor Yurgens, Chairman of the Institute of Contemporary Development, and Francois Heisbourg, Chair of the International Institute for Strategic Studies, discussed the future of sanctions as a foreign policy tool. Kevin Rudd, former Prime Minister of Australia and President of the Asia Society Policy Institute moderated the discussion.

Video

Photos (3): Körber-Stiftung/Olivier Rimbon Foeller

all Videos   Programme   Projects

Gallery

  • The Grande Halle de La Villette in Paris    
  • Arrival of Heads of State and Government for the opening of the Paris Peace Forum on 11 November    
  • Arrival of Heads of State and Government for the opening of the Paris Peace Forum on 11 November    
  • Opening of the Paris Peace Forum by Trisha Shetty, Vice President of the Steering Committee of the Forum    
  • Welcome of the Heads of State and Government and participants of the Paris Peace Forum by Emmanuel Macron    
  • Speech by Chancellor Angela Merkel    
  • Speech by UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres    
  • Discussion on the “Effectiveness of Multilateralism” with Cardinal State Secretary Pietro Parolin, Alpha Barry, Foreign Minister of Burkina Faso, and Amine Abba Sidick, Ambassador of the Republic of Chad to the French Republic – moderated by Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs of the Körber Foundation    
  • Pitches in the Space for Solutions    
  • Discussion with a project leader in the Space for Solutions    
  • Welcome Remarks by Thomas Paulsen, Member of the Executive Board of the Körber Foundation for the discussion “Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council” on 12 November    
  • “Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council” – a discussion hosted by the Körber Foundation: Martin Kobler, German Ambassador to Pakistan, Almut Wieland-Karimi, Director of the Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF), Smail Chergui, Commissioner for Peace and Security of the African Union, Bruno Stagno Ugarte, former Foreign Minister of Costa Rica and Deputy Executive Director for Advocacy of Human Rights Watch – moderated by Ian Bremmer, President of the Eurasia Group    
  • “Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council” – a discussion hosted by the Körber Foundation in the Agora, 12 November    
  • “Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council” – a discussion hosted by the Körber Foundation in the Agora, 12 November    
  • “Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council” – a discussion hosted by the Körber comment by Nadia Murad, 2018 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and UN Goodwill Ambassador    
  • Questions of the audience to the panelists    
  • “Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question” – a discussion hosted by the Körber Foundation in the Auditorium, 13 November    
  • “Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question”: Kevin Rudd, former Prime Minister of Australia and President of the Asia Society Policy Institute, JIN Keyu, Associate Professor at the Department of Economics at the London School of Economics, Igor Yurgens, Chairman of the Institute of Contemporary Development, and Francois Heisbourg, Chair of the International Institute for Strategic Studies    
  • Discussion with a project leader in the Space for Solutions    
  • Pitches in the Space for Solutions    
  • The Grande Halle de La Villette    
  • Photos: Körber-Stiftung/Olivier Rimbon Foeller

    to top

X

Paris Peace Forum 2018

Das erste Paris Peace Forum fand vom 11. bis 13. November 2018 in der Grande Halle de La Villette statt. 100 Jahre nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs eröffneten der französische Präsident Emmanuel Macron, Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und der Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen, Antonio Guterres, gemeinsam mit 70 Staats- und Regierungschefs sowie Vorsitzenden internationaler Organisationen das Forum. Die Körber-Stiftung war als Gründungsmitglied des Paris Peace Forum aktiv in die Organisation und inhaltliche Ausgestaltung und Durchführung des Forums involviert.

Während der drei Veranstaltungstage standen konkrete Initiativen, die multilaterale Zusammenarbeit stärken und fördern, im Zentrum des Forums. Im »Space for Solutions« wurden 121 Global Governance-Initiativen aus 40 Ländern und von 10 internationalen Organisationen vorgestellt. Darüber hinaus konnten die Projektleiter und -leiterinnen ihre Ideen in zahlreichen Pitches und sogenannten Braindates vorstellen und mit den Teilnehmenden diskutieren. Im »Space for Innovation« erarbeiteten 80 internationale Entwickler und Expertinnen digitale Lösungen zum Thema Transparenz von Finanzdaten. Der »Space for Debates« regte den Dialog über Querschnittsthemen der Global Governance an. Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und anderen Bereichen kamen in über 70 Gesprächen, Fishbowl-Diskussionen, Brainstorms, »Meisterklassen« und Pressekonferenzen zusammen, um gemeinsam Ideen und Lösungen für einen nachhaltigen Frieden zu entwickeln.

Im Rahmen des vielseitigen Programms kuratierte die Körber-Stiftung drei Veranstaltungen:

Sonntag, 11. November 2018:
Multilateralismus in Gefahr?

Im Anschluss an die Eröffnung des Paris Peace Forum moderierte Nora Müller, Leiterin des Bereichs Internationale Politik der Körber-Stiftung, eine Roundtable-Diskussion zum Thema »Multilateralismus in Gefahr?«. Zu den Diskutanten zählten Kardinalstaatssekretär Pietro Parolin, Alpha Barry, Außenminister von Burkina Faso, und der Botschafter der Republik Tschad in Frankreich, Amine Abba Sidick.

Video

Montag, 12. November 2018:
Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council

Wie kann man das Vertrauen in den UN Sicherheitsrat wiederherstellen? Wie sollte eine mögliche Reform des Sicherheitsrats aussehen? Darüber diskutierten Nadia Murad, Friedensnobelpreisträgerin 2018, Martin Kobler, Deutscher Botschafter in Pakistan, Almut Wieland-Karimi, Direktorin des Zentrum für internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF), Smail Chergui, Kommissar für Frieden und Sicherheit der Afrikanischen Union und Bruno Stagno Ugarte, stellvertretender Geschäftsführer für Advocacy von Human Rights Watch – moderiert von Ian Bremmer, Präsident der Eurasia Group.

Video

Dienstag, 13. November 2019:
Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question

Die Zukunft von Sanktionen als Mittel der internationalen Politik debattierten JIN Keyu, Professorin im Department of Economics der London School of Economics, Igor Yurgens, Vorsitzender des Institute of Contemporary Development, und Francois Heisbourg, Vorsitzender des International Institute for Strategic Studies unter der Moderation von Kevin Rudd, ehemaliger Premierminister Australiens und Präsident des Asia Society Policy Institute.

Video

Fotos (3): Körber-Stiftung/Olivier Rimbon Foeller

alle Videos   zum Programm   zu den Projekten

Fotogalerie

  • Die Grande Halle de La Villette in Paris    
  • Ankunft der Staats- und Regierungschefs zur Eröffnung des Paris Peace Forum, 11. November    
  • Ankunft der Staats- und Regierungschefs zur Eröffnung des Paris Peace Forum, 11. November    
  • Eröffnung des Paris Peace Forum durch Trisha Shetty, Vizepräsidentin des Steering Committee des Forums    
  • Begrüßung der Staats- und Regierungschefs und Teilnehmenden des Paris Peace Forum durch Emmanuel Macron    
  • Auftaktrede von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel    
  • Auftaktrede des UN-Generalsekretärs Antonio Guterres    
  • Diskussion zum Thema »Effektivität von Multilateralismus« mit Kardinalstaatssekretär Pietro Parolin, Alpha Barry, Außenminister von Burkina Faso, und Amine Abba Sidick, Botschafter der Republik Tschad in Frankreich – moderiert von Nora Müller, Leiterin Bereich Internationale Politik der Körber-Stiftung    
  • Pitches im Space for Solutions    
  • Diskussion mit einer Projektleiterin im Space for Solutions    
  • Begrüßung von Thomas Paulsen, Mitglied des Vorstands der Körber-Stiftung, zur Diskussion »Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council«, 12. November    
  • »Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung: Martin Kobler, Deutscher Botschafter in Pakistan, Almut Wieland-Karimi, Direktorin des Zentrum für internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF), Smail Chergui, Kommissar für Frieden und Sicherheit der Afrikanischen Union, Bruno Stagno Ugarte, ehemaliger Außenminister Costa Ricas und Deputy Executive Director for Advocacy von Human Rights Watch – moderiert von Ian Bremmer, Präsident der Eurasia Group    
  • »Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung: Diskussion in der Agora, 12. November    
  • »Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung: Diskussion in der Agora, 12. November    
  • »Restoring Faith in the UN Security Council« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung: Kommentar von Nadia Murad, Friedensnobelpreisträgerin und UN Sonderbotschafterin    
  • Fragen an die Diskutanten aus dem Publikum    
  • »Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung : Diskussion im Auditorium, 13. November    
  • »Between Words and War: International Sanctions in Question« – kuratiert von der Körber-Stiftung: Kevin Rudd, ehemaliger Präsident Australiens und Präsident des Asia Society Policy Institute, JIN Keyu, Associate Professor im Department of Economics der London School of Economics, Igor Yurgens, Vorsitzender des Institute of Contemporary Development, und Francois Heisbourg, Vorsitzender des International Institute for Strategic Studies    
  • Diskussion mit einer Projektleiterin im Space for Solutions    
  • Pitches im Space for Solutions    
  • Die Grande Halle de La Villette    
  • Fotos: Körber-Stiftung/Olivier Rimbon Foeller

    to top