+
Paris Peace Forum > 2020

Paris Peace Forum 2020

In the face of the global COVID-19 pandemic, the third Paris Peace Forum took place digitally from 11 to 13 November 2020. Embracing the challenge of rebuilding international cooperation in times of crisis, 12.000 participants and 441 speakers from 151 countries came together to improve the collective response to the COVID-19 pandemic and reinvent multilateralism. Alongside 178 panel discussions and project pitches on the topics of peace and security, environment, development, culture and education, new technologies, and inclusive economy, the Forum’s event platform hosted several events with the objective of “bouncing back to a better planet”.

The Official Ceremony featured video messages from over 50 Heads of States and Government and International Organisations, including New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte and Chinese President Xi Jinping, sharing their visions for a post-COVID world. Upon occasion of the Paris Peace Forum, French President Emmanuel Macron welcomed Senegalese President Macky Sall, IMF Director General Kristalina Georgieva, and Charles Michel, President of the European Council, at the Élysée Palace – German Chancellor Angela Merkel, UN Secretary-General António Guterres and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen attended the meeting virtually. Together, they discussed the main principles that should guide multilateral responses to challenges in the fields of climate, health, inequalities, and the defense of fundamental rights in the digital age.

For the first time, the Paris Peace Forum brought together public development banks from around the world at the Finance in Common Summit. This new coalition of actors aims at coordinating the economic recovery and global public investments. During the Summit, UN Secretary General António Guterres called on the international community to mobilize the necessary financing to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals and the objectives of the Paris Climate Agreement.

A ministerial meeting of the Alliance for Multilateralism launched the „One Health“ High-Level Expert Council in the presence of German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas and French Foreign Minister, Jean-Yves Le Drian. In order to improve the global governance of health, the Council will gather and disseminate reliable information on the links between human, animal and environmental health.

A coalition of state and non-state actors pledged more than €400 million to the WHO-led ACT-Accelerator to facilitate the global availability of COVID tests, treatments, and vaccines.

As an active Founding Member of the Paris Peace Forum, Körber-Stiftung hosted a debate titled ”Like a Phoenix from the Ashes? Multilateralism in a (Post-)COVID World“. The session addressed options to turn the current crisis into an opportunity for more effective multilateral cooperation, and discussed the implications of the outcome of the US presidential elections for the future of multilateralism. Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs with Körber-Stiftung, and Vice President of the Association Forum de Paris sur la Paix moderated the discussion.

Speakers included:

  • Josep Borrell Fontelles, High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission,
  • Oby Ezekwesili, former Vice-President of the World Bank's Africa division and Senior Economic Advisor at the Africa Economic Development Policy Initiative,
  • Clément Beaune, State Secretary for Europe and Foreign Affairs at the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs, and
  • Natalie Samarasinghe, Chief of Strategy for the Commemorations of the 75th Anniversary of the United Nations.

Under the title “UN75 and the future of multilateralism”, Fabrizio Hochschild, Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General on the Commemoration of the United Nations’ 75th Anniversary, and Jeb Bell, Vice President Global Strategy at the Pew Research Center, discussed public support for international cooperation and international organisations such as the United Nations and the World Health Organization. Together with Nora Müller, Executive Director International Affairs with Körber-Stiftung, they explored new approaches for a more inclusive world order.

As in previous years, 100 project leaders presented their innovative solutions for strengthening global governance at the Paris Peace Forum, of which 46 focus on immediate responses to the current health, social and economic crisis. More than 850 applications from all continents were sent in, the highest participation rate since the Forum’s inception. The 10 projects selected by the Scale-up Committee will benefit from a one-year support for their advocacy, communication or organizational development activities.

to top

+
Paris Peace Forum > 2020

Paris Peace Forum 2020

Unter dem Motto »zurück zu einem besseren Planeten« fand das dritte Paris Peace Forum vom 11. bis 13. November 2020 statt. 12.000 Teilnehmende und 441 Referent/innen aus 151 Ländern kamen erstmals ausschließlich virtuell zusammen, um gemeinsame Antworten auf die drängendsten globalen Herausforderungen wie das Coronavirus zu finden. Neben 178 Paneldiskussionen und Projekt-Pitches in den Themenbereichen Frieden und Sicherheit, Umwelt, Entwicklung, Kultur und Bildung, neue Technologien und inklusive Wirtschaft bot die interaktive virtuelle Veranstaltungsplattform mehrere Veranstaltungshighlights für Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Forschung und der Zivilgesellschaft:

Im Rahmen der Official Ceremony präsentierten über 50 Staats- und Regierungschefs sowie Leiter/innen Internationaler Organisationen, darunter die neuseeländische Premierministerin Jacinda Ardern, der indische Premierminister Narendra Modi, der kanadische Premierminister Justin Trudeau, der italienische Premierminister Giuseppe Conte und der chinesische Präsident Xi Jinping, in Videobotschaften ihre Visionen für eine Welt nach dem Coronavirus. Darüber hinaus empfing der französische Präsident Emmanuel Macron den senegalesischen Präsidenten Macky Sall, die Generaldirektorin des IWF Kristalina Georgieva und den Präsidenten des Europäischen Rates, Charles Michel, im Élysée-Palast – Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, UN-Generalsekretär António Guterres und die Präsidentin der Europäischen Kommission, Ursula von der Leyen, nahmen virtuell an dem Treffen teil. Gemeinsam diskutierten sie die wichtigsten Prinzipien, die multilaterale Antworten auf Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Klima, Gesundheit, Ungleichheiten und Verteidigung der Grundrechte im digitalen Zeitalter leiten sollten.

Zum ersten Mal brachte der „Finance in Common Summit“ öffentliche Entwicklungsbanken aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Diese neue Koalition von Akteuren zielt darauf ab, die wirtschaftliche Erholung und weltweite öffentliche Investitionen zu koordinieren. UNO-Generalsekretär António Guterres rief die Teilnehmenden auf, die notwendigen Finanzmittel zu mobilisieren, um die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung und das Pariser Klimaabkommen zu erreichen.

Bei einem Ministertreffen der Allianz für Multilateralismus wurde in Anwesenheit des deutschen Außenministers Heiko Maas und des französischen Außenministers Jean-Yves Le Drian der hochrangige Expertenrat "One Health High-Level Expert Council" eingerichtet. Dieser wird sich für die Stärkung der multilateralen Gesundheitsarchitektur einsetzen.

Für die WHO-geführte ACT-A Kampagne sagte eine Koalition aus staatlichen und nichtstaatlichen Akteuren mehr als 400 Millionen Euro zu, um die weltweite Verfügbarkeit von COVID-Tests, Behandlungen und Impfstoffen zu erleichtern.

Als aktives Gründungsmitglied des Paris Peace Forum veranstaltete die Körber-Stiftung eine Debatte unter dem Titel »Phönix aus der Asche? Multilateralismus in einer (Post-)Corona-Welt«. Die Diskussion befasste sich mit Möglichkeiten, wie die gegenwärtige Krise zu einem Antrieb für effektivere multilaterale Zusammenarbeit werden kann. Darüber hinaus fand das Ergebnis der US-Präsidentschaftswahlen und mögliche Auswirkungen auf die Zukunft des Multilateralismus besondere Beachtung. Nora Müller, Leiterin des Bereichs Internationale Politik der Körber-Stiftung und Vize-Präsidentin des Paris Peace Forum moderierte die Diskussion.

Zu den Diskutanten zählten:

  • Josep Borrell Fontelles, Hoher Vertreter der EU für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik und Vizepräsident der Europäischen Kommission,
  • Oby Ezekwesili, ehemalige Vizepräsidentin der Weltbank (Region Afrika) und Senior Economic Advisor bei der Africa Economic Development Policy Initiative,
  • Clément Beaune, Staatssekretär für europäische Angelegenheiten beim französischen Minister für Europa und auswärtige Angelegenheiten, und
  • Natalie Samarasinghe, Leiterin der Strategie für die Gedenkfeiern zum 75-jährigen Bestehen der Vereinten Nationen.

Unter dem Titel „UN75 und die Zukunft des Multilateralismus“ diskutierten Fabrizio Hochschild, UNO-Untergeneralsekretär und Sonderberater des Generalsekretärs zur Vorbereitung des 75. Jahrestags der Gründung der Vereinten Nationen, und Jeb Bell, Vizepräsident Global Strategy am Pew Research Center, über Haltung der Öffentlichkeit zu Internationalen Organisationen wie den Vereinten Nationen und der Weltgesundheitsorganisation. Gemeinsam mit Nora Müller, Leiterin Bereich Internationale Politik der Körber-Stiftung, erörterten sie neue Ansätze für eine inklusivere Weltordnung.

Wie in den Vorjahren konnten sich Initiativen mit ihren innovativen Lösungen zur Stärkung der Global Governance beim Paris Peace Forum bewerben. Mehr als 850 Bewerbungen aus allen Kontinenten gingen ein: ein Rekord seit der Gründung des Forums. 46 der 100 Projekte des „Space for Solutions“ bieten konkrete Antworten auf die gesundheitlichen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen der derzeitigen Krise und konnten von den Teilnehmenden des Forums auf der Veranstaltungsplattform virtuell kennengelernt werden. Die zehn Projekte mit dem größten Entwicklungspotential wurden während des Forums von einer unabhängigen Kommission ausgewählt und werden über die Dauer eines Jahres von den Mitglieder des »Scale-up-Komitees« in ihrer weitere Arbeit und Entwicklung unterstützt.

to top