+
Paris Peace Forum

Körber Multilateralism Lab

The Körber Multilateralism Lab aims to develop innovative approaches to shape the future of the multilateral order. It is a joint initiative of the German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA) and Körber-Stiftung, bringing together wide-ranging and in-depth expertise in facilitating international dialogue, independent high-quality research, and two global networks of thought leaders and policy experts.

Background

The COVID-19 pandemic and its repercussions are a painful reminder that we are increasingly facing global challenges that unilateral action cannot address. On the one hand, pre-existing global trends such as introspection and anti-globalist tendencies have been aggravated and accelerated. On the other hand, we know that the need for global cooperation has increased even more. Long before the outbreak of SARS-CoV-2, policy fields such as global health were characterized by intense multilateral cooperation and could serve as productive starting points for other policy areas.

In three virtual meetings during 2020 – the concluding session having taken place in the wake of the US election in November – the Lab brought together a select group of policy experts, public officials and academics in a confidential setting. With the help of forward-looking debate and collaborative tools, participants explored new ideas beyond thought barriers and tested impulses to improve international cooperation and the effectiveness of the multilateral system.

The Report

Making it Matter: Thought Experiments for Meaningful Multilateralism

The report of the Körber Multilateralism Lab offers innovative perspectives on a potential rescue and reboot of the multilateral system, and specific recommendations for the governance of global health, trade, security, and climate change. It is a call to improve representation of the Global South – a key imperative for multilateralism to work in a meaningful way – and to seek like-minded allies transcending the North-South divides. The report gives new insights into how winning narratives might be developed, necessary to build and reinforce support for multilateralism. Underpinning both the general and the specific policy recommendations are questions of values, interests, and purpose. Embracing the momentum of reinvigorated transatlantic relations, our goal was to develop a blueprint for a meaningful reform of the multilateral order to better deal with current and future challenges.

The launch of the Körber Multilateralism Lab Report took place on Thursday, 20 May 2021 in partnership with the Munich Security Conference.

download (PDF)

Video

Contact

Dr. Ronja Scheler
Programme Director
Paris Peace Forum; The Berlin Pulse

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 79
scheler@koerber-stiftung.de

Lucie Courtade
Programme Manager
Paris Peace Forum

Phone +49 • 30 • 206 267 - 88
E-Mail courtade@koerber-stiftung.de

Cooperation Partner

to top

+
Paris Peace Forum

Körber Multilateralism Lab

Das Körber Multilateralism Lab ist eine Kooperation des German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA) und der Körber-Stiftung. Gemeinsam vereinen beide Institutionen umfassende und fundierte Expertise zur Förderung des internationalen Dialogs, unabhängiger Forschung und zwei globale Netzwerke von Vordenker/innen und Politikexpert/innen. Ziel des Projekts ist es, innovative Ansätze für die Zukunft der multilateralen Ordnung zu finden.

Hintergrund

Die Corona-Pandemie und ihre Auswirkungen stellen weiterhin schmerzlich unter Beweis, dass wir vor globalen Herausforderungen stehen, denen wir mit unilateralen Maßnahmen nicht begegnen können. Zum einen hat die Pandemie bestehende globale Entwicklungen wie Nationalismus und Anti-Globalismus verschärft und beschleunigt. Gleichzeitig nimmt aber auch der Bedarf an internationaler Koordination und Kooperation weiter zu. Gerade im Bereich der globalen Gesundheit gab es bereits vor dem Ausbruch des Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 eine intensive multilaterale Zusammenarbeit, aus der man Lehren für andere Politikfelder ziehen kann.

In drei virtuellen Gesprächsrunden – die abschließende Sitzung fand im Anschluss an die US-Wahl im November statt – brachte das Lab 2020 eine Gruppe einflussreicher Expert/innen aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Medien und Wirtschaft in einem vertraulichen Rahmen zusammen. Mit Hilfe von interaktiven und kollaborativen Methoden erprobten die Teilnehmenden neue Ideen und Impulse zur Verbesserung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit und der Effektivität des multilateralen Systems.

Der Bericht

Making it Matter: Thought Experiments for Meaningful Multilateralism

Der Bericht des Körber Multilateralism Lab bietet innovative Perspektiven auf eine mögliche Rettung oder den Neustart des multilateralen Systems sowie konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für die Themenfelder globale Gesundheit, Handel, Sicherheit und den Klimawandel. Er ist ein Aufruf für die verbesserte Repräsentation des Globalen Südens – eine Schlüsselvoraussetzung für einen erfolgreichen Multilateralismus – sowie für stärkere Bündnisse Gleichgesinnter, die die Nord-Süd-Grenzen überwinden. Der Bericht gibt neue Einblicke in die Bedeutung überzeugender Narrative zum Mehrwert internationaler Kooperation, die die Akzeptanz für multilaterales Handeln bei Bürgerinnen und Bürgern aufbauen und stärken. Grundlage der Handlungsempfehlungen bilden Überlegungen zu verschiedenen Wertvorstellungen, den Interessen internationaler Akteure sowie dem Zweck des multilateralen Systems. Angesichts gestärkter transatlantischer Beziehungen war es unser Ziel, eine Vision für eine wirkungsvolle Reform der multilateralen Ordnung zu entwickeln.

Der Launch des Körber Multilateralism Lab Report fand am Donnerstag, den 20. Mai 2021, in Partnerschaft mit der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz (MSC) statt.

Download (PDF)

Kontakt

Dr. Ronja Scheler (in Elternzeit)
Programmleiterin
Paris Peace Forum; The Berlin Pulse

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 79
scheler@koerber-stiftung.de

Christin Knüpfer
Programmleiterin
Paris Peace Forum; The Berlin Pulse

+49 • 30 • 206 267 - 63
knuepfer@koerber-stiftung.de

Lucie Courtade
Programm-Managerin
Paris Peace Forum

Telefon +49 • 30 • 206 267 - 88
E-Mail courtade@koerber-stiftung.de

Kooperationspartner

to top