

180th Bergedorf Round Table

Gravity Shift Towards the East? Russia's War in Ukraine and the EU's Changing Political Balance

Warsaw, 9 - 10 December 2022

Host:

Dr Thomas Paulsen Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Moderator:

Andreas Cichowicz Editor-in-Chief, Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Hamburg

List of Participants:

Knut Abraham, MP Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr Jurij Daniel Aston Director, Horizontal and Global Affairs, General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2009

Amb Dr Thomas Bagger Ambassador, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Władysław Teofil Bartoszewski, MP Deputy Chairperson, Foreign Affairs Committee, Sejm of the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Marieluise Beck fmr State Secretary; Member, Executive Board, Center for Liberal Modernity (LibMod), Berlin

Dr Benedetta Berti Head, Policy Planning Unit, Office of the Secretary General, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Brussels; Munich Young Leader 2013

Sir Laurie Bristow fmr Ambassador, Embassy of the United Kingdom to the Russian Federation; President, Hughes Hall, University of Cambridge, Cambridge

Pierre Buhler fmr Ambassador, Embassy of the French Republic to the Republic of Poland; Permanent Consultant, Center for Analysis, Planning and Strategy, Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Paris

Piotr Buras Head, Warsaw Office; Senior Policy Fellow, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), Warsaw

Andreas Cichowicz Editor-in-Chief, Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Hamburg



Prof Dr Jacek Czaputowicz fmr Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Poland; Professor, Faculty of Political Science and International Studies, University of Warsaw, Warsaw

Dr Ole Diehl Vice-President, Bundesnachrichtendienst (BND), Berlin

Hüseyin Diriöz fmr Ambassador, Embassy of the Republic of Türkiye to the Russian Federation, Ankara

Iulian Fota State Secretary, Strategic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bucharest

Brigadier General Dr Christian Freuding Director, Special Staff Ukraine, Federal Ministry of Defence, Berlin; Munich Young Leader 2011

Angela Ganninger Head, Global Issues, Sub-Saharan-Africa, Development Policy, International Migration Policy, Federal Chancellery, Berlin

Justyna Gotkowska Deputy Director, Center for Eastern Studies (OSW), Warsaw

Kersti Kaljulaid fmr President, Republic of Estonia; President, President Kaljulaid Foundation, Tallinn

Dr Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, MP Deputy Speaker; Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs; Member, Committee on European Affairs, Saeima (Parliament), Republic of Latvia, Riga; Munich Young Leader 2014

Dr Janis Kluge Senior Associate, Eastern Europe and Eurasia Division, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Berlin

Maciej Kubicki Head, Three Seas Secretariat, International Policy Bureau, Chancellery of the President of the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Daniel Lawton Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of the United States of America to the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Michael Georg Link, MP fmr State Secretary; Coordinator, Transatlantic Cooperation in the Field of Intersocietal Relations, Cultural and Information Policy, Federal Foreign Office; Member, Committee on European Union Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Oleksandr Merezhko, MP Chairperson, Foreign Affairs Committee, Verkhovna Rada, Kyiv

Nora Müller Executive Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Aydan Özoğuz, MP Vice-President; Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr Thomas Paulsen Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Dr Jana Puglierin Head, Berlin Office; Senior Policy Fellow, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), Berlin

Marcin Przydacz Undersecretary of State, Security, the Americas, Asia and Eastern Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republiy of Poland, Warsaw



Janusz Reiter fmr Ambassador, Embassy of the Republic of Poland to the Federal Republic of Germany; Founder, Chairperson, Center for International Relations (CSM), Warsaw

Prof Dr Mary Elise Sarotte Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Distinguished Professor of Historical Studies, School of Advanced International Studies, John Hopkins University, Washington, D.C.

Dr Anna Sauerbrey Foreign Policy Editor, DIE ZEIT, Hamburg

Jiří **Schneider** fmr Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Czech Republic; Lay Moderator, Evangelical Church of Czech Brethren, Prague

Radosław Sikorski, MEP fmr Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Poland; Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs, European Parliament, Brussels

Janusz Styczek Deputy Director, European Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Lieutenant General Nico Tak Commander, First German Netherlands Corps, Münster

Colonel Eric Trychon Defense Attaché, Embassy of the United States of America to the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Dr Márton Ugrósdy Deputy State Secretary; Head, Office of the Prime Minister's Political Director, Cabinet Office of the Prime Minister, Budapest

Tomáš Valášek, MP Chairperson, European Affairs Committee; Member, Slovak National Council, Slovak Republic, Bratislava

Alisa **Vogt** Programme Director International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Elżbieta Witek, MP Marshal, Sejm, Republic of Poland, Warsaw

Christian Wulff fmr Federal President, Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin