184th Bergedorf Round Table Rethinking Global Cooperation in a NonWestern World

Berlin, 18 - 19 March 2024

Host:

Dr Thomas Paulsen Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg

Moderator:

Dr Almut **Wieland-Karimi** Senior Policy Advisor, Advisory Board, Stiftung Mercator; Advisory Group of UN Secretary-General on Peacebuilding, Berlin

List of Participants:

Abdulrahman Alneyadi Director, European Affairs Department, United Arab Emirates Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Abu Dhabi; Munich Young Leader 2024

Renata Alt, MP Chairwoman, Committee on Human Rights and Humanitarian Aid, Berlin

Niels Annen, MP Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Berlin

Dr Thomas Bagger State Secretary, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Thorsten Benner Founder & Director, Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi), Berlin

Dr Franziska Brantner, MP Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Berlin

Dr Dingding Chen Professor, International Relations, Jinan University, Guangzhou

Prof Dr Carlos Frederico **de Souza Coelho** Researcher, BRICS Policy Center, Rio de Janeiro

Dr Dino Patti **Djalal** Founder & Advisor, Foreign Policy Community of Indonesia (FPCI), Jakarta

Deborah Düring, MP Spokesperson, Development Policy, Parliamentary Group; Member, German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr Kristina **Eichhorst** Head, International Affairs, Mercedes-Benz Group AG, Berlin

Steven **Erlanger** Chief Diplomatic Correspondent in Europe, The New York Times, Berlin

Dr Obiageli **Ezekwesili** fmr Vice President, Africa Region, World Bank; fmr Minister of Education, Federal Republic of Nigeria; Co-Founder, Transparency International; Chief Executive Operator, Human Capital Africa, Abuja

Ezzedine Choukri Fishere Senior Lecturer, Middle East Politics, Foreign Policy Analysis, International Relations, Dartmouth College, Hanover

Alexander Gabuev Director, Russia Eurasia Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Berlin; Munich Young Leader 2011

Julia Ganter Programme Director, Körber Emerging Middle Powers Initiative, The Berlin Pulse, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Steven **Gruzd** Head, African Governance and Diplomacy Programme and the Russia-Africa Project, South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), Johannesburg

Dr Ina Heusgen Head, Division 221 Global Issues, United Nations, Sub-Sahara-Africa and the Sahel, Federal Chancellery, Berlin; Munich Young Leader 2011

Richard Javad **Heydarian** Associate Professor, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Manila; Munich Young Leader 2021/22

Elissa Jobson Chief of Advocacy, International Crisis Group, Brussels

Sylvie Kauffmann Editorial Director, Le Monde, Paris

Bogolo Joy Kenewendo Global Economist; fmr Cabinet Minister of Investment, Trade and Industry, Republic of Botswana; Founding Managing Director, Kenewendo Advisory, Gaborone

Ivan Krastev Founding Board Member, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR); Permanent Fellow, Institute of Human Sciences (IWM), Sofia

Manjeet Kripalani Executive Director, Gateway House, Mumbai

Rezaul Hasan Laskar Foreign Affairs Editor, Hindustan Times, New Delhi

Mark Leonard Co-Founder & Director, European Council on Foreign Relations, Berlin

Ottilia Anna Maunganidze Head of Special Projects, Office of the Executive Director, Institute for Security Studies (ISS), Pretoria; Munich Young Leader 2017

Muhammad Shafqat Munir Non-Resident Fellow, Institute of South Asian Studies (ISAS); Senior Research Fellow & Head, Bangladesh Centre for Terrorism Research (BCTR), Dhaka; Munich Young Leader 2017

Nora Müller Executive Director, International Affairs, Körber-Stiftung, Berlin

Dr Thomas **Paulsen** Member of the Executive Board, Körber-Stiftung, Hamburg Dr Volker **Perthes** UN Under-Secretary-General (ret); Senior Advisor, German Institute for International and Security Affairs, Berlin

Jens Plötner Advisor to the Federal Chancellor, Foreign and Security Policy, Federal Chancellery, Berlin

Dr Anna Sauerbrey Coordinator, Foreign Policy, Die Zeit, Hamburg

Michael **Scharfschwerdt** Director Policy Planning, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Ineza Umuhoza Grace Founder & Chief Executive Office, Environment and Climate Change, The Green Protector, Kigali; Munich Young Leader 2023

Roberto Velasco Álvarez Chief Officer, North America, Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores de México, Mexico City; Munich Young Leader 2020

Janani Vivekananda Head, Climate Diplomacy and Security, Adelphi, Berlin

Dr Sabine Weyand Director-General, Trade, European Commission, Brussels

Dr Almut **Wieland-Karimi** Senior Policy Advisor, Advisory Board, Stiftung Mercator; Advisory Group of UN Secretary-General on Peacebuilding, Berlin